Information for Alumni

Ask a Librarian

 


Call us: 410-516-8335
Text us: 410-692-8874
Email us: ask@jhu.libanswers.com
FAQs

Contact Regional Campus Librarians

Friends of the Library

For more than 80 years, the Friends of the Libraries have been an essential partner—offering time and resources to ensure the Libraries’ continued success and that of the faculty and students we serve. Through lectures and programs and the support of acquisitions, technology, and access, the Friends play a vital role in assuring that Johns Hopkins advances and preserves the “great library” that President Gilman put at the heart of a “strong university."

Do you offer any assistance or in-depth research service for alumni?

Once you login to HKNET there is an extensive FAQ that answers many questions. If needing more in-depth assistance beyond the FAQ, HKNET does provide a fee-based service called Hopkins Personal Librarian (HPL). HPL, a service for Hopkins Alumni, can assist the person who has an in-depth research need, or would rather have someone else do the searching and provide the documents to him or her. Alumni have used the HPL service for a variety of purposes, including to supplement dissertation research, to learn about the current state of science communication and public knowledge of science, and to conduct research on literary topics.  Hopkins Personal Librarian utilizes the resources available within HKNET.  Please contact us via email at alumni.library@jhu.edu or toll-free telephone, 1-866-269-8471 if you'd like to place a request for service.

Access to the Homewood Libraries

Access to the libraries is granted to any person age 16 or older upon presentation of photo identification. Visitors under the age of 16 must be accompanied by an adult.

Alumni Online Library

Hopkins KnowledgetNET (HKNET) provides a collection of databases that have been licensed specifically for alumni use. HKNET is completely separate from the Johns Hopkins libraries’ electronic resources and collections. Johns Hopkins library database licenses have restrictions that allow only current students, faculty, and staff to access them, so remote access to these databases ends once you graduate.

To help address post-graduation access, the Alumni Association and the libraries have partnered to create Hopkins KnowledgeNET (HKNET), the Alumni Online Library. HKNET contains academic and popular journal articles, a comprehensive music encyclopedia, directories  and more through certain databases licensed specifically for alumni access, as well as links to additional collections of online resources, digital libraries, and other Johns Hopkins publications.  See a complete list of available databases in the box below. 

HKNET is available to all graduates of Johns Hopkins University.  To connect to HKNET, go to https://connect.jhu.edu/ and enter your JHED ID and password.

 

List of Available Databases

 

How can I obtain an article that is not available in HKNET?

There are several options depending on how quickly you need the article, and whether or not you're willing to pay for it.

  1. If you're in the Baltimore area, you're welcome to come into the Milton S. Eisenhower Library and use the print and online collections.
  2. You can make an interlibrary loan request through your public library, and they will get a copy of the article from another library on your behalf. This service is usually free, but can take some time, typically 2-4 weeks, but check with your library for more accurate turnaround times.
  3. There are commercial document suppliers who will supply an electronic copy of an article for a fee, usually in a very short timeframe. One that we know of is: Infotrieve
  4. Many journal publishers have pay-per-view options. You can usually find a link to it from the publisher web site.