Business

Locate key business information resources for academic research.

Annual Reports to Shareholders

Major corporations use these attractive, annual, public relations documents to communicate directly with their shareholders.

Reports offer insight on their mission, lines of business, products, growth, productivity, stability, performance, strengths, corporate structure, management, intellectual property and relationships with other businesses. Company filings and annual reports are often the only sources of unique, valuable information on a specific business and concisely capture a company’s situation at a given point in time.
 

Sources for Obtaining Annual Reports to Shareholders
  • Mergent Intellect
    Access these shareholder reports under the Annual Report section within a company's profile.
  • Mergent Online by FTSE Russell
    Provides the most recently available annual reports for international and U.S. companies in full-image online. Search by company and select the Reports tab for annual reports.
     
  • Mergent Archives
    Supplementing the recent company filings and annual reports in Mergent Online, Mergent Archives provides a full-image collection of over 500,000 historical, global company filings and annual reports (in color) as far back as the late 1800s, depending on the company.  The collection is updated daily. Documents are fully searchable.  
     
  • Individual companies
    Check a company's website (under Investor Relations links) or request a copy. Often a company will provide one for free.
     
  • PRARS (Public Register's Annual Report Service)
    free reports mailed within one business day

Financials

Businesses within other countries may or may not be required by those countries to file or publish financial reports within a specific country. The most recently available information could vary by business or country.

EDGAR
Freely access Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC) filings from companies listed on any American stock exchange, dating back to 1993.

SEDAR
Use Canada's site for public company filings, which began in January 1997.


SEC filings of Foreign Companies

All U.S. and foreign companies are required to submit filings to the SEC.


Company Profiles with Financials

Mergent Online by FTSE Russell
Retrieve recent and historical financials, ratios, SEC filings, annual reports, news, industry reports, and customized reports for U.S. public and large international companies.

Thomson One
View specific company profiles or use the screening tool to customize your research. Access only with Internet Explorer. Disable pop-up blockers. Under the browser's settings, choose Compatibility View Settings, and add this database to the box. Up to 10 individuals at a time can access; please log off through the Exit door icon when finished.

S and P Capital IQ Netadvantage
Search on a company. Click on the links on the left of the profile for additional information and in-depth analysis. Perform customized searches in other sections of the database.

Corporate Affiliations
Identify a company's corporate hierarchy or family tree through this directory to determine who owns whom.

Bloomberg Professional Service
Refer to this Bloomberg guide for general information on accessing and using the Bloomberg terminals at the Eisenhower and regional campus libraries to locate company profiles, economic data, commodity prices, financials, real-time news, and security-specific or broad market data. Current JHU faculty, staff, and students are eligible for a Bloomberg account; using their JHED credentials and JHU e-mail address.

PrivCo
Create a personal account with your JHU e-mail address, in order to explore this key source for financial, operational, and competitive information on major, non-publicly traded corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Obtain unique details on financing arrangements related to venture capital, private equity, and mergers and acquisitions.

Nexis Uni (Lexis-Nexis Academic)
Retrieve company profiles or perform a general search on your company or topic.

Hoover's Online
Retrieve profiles on U.S. or international public and private companies.


Additional Financial Datasets

Compustat
Use this S and P Market Intelligence's database to extract historical, financial data on U.S. and international companies, based on annual reports. Compustat is available to current JHU faculty, staff, and graduate students who have been approved for a Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) account.


Older Annual Reports

Selected, older annual reports or filings exist on microfiche, under the SEC files and Q files. Check the accompanying print index for coverage, beginning with the 1980s.  Allow time for delivery of film from the Libraries Service Center.

SEC files and Q files
Micro-fiche C no. 296

Directories: Basic Facts

Mergent Intellect
Find company information and job listings for U.S. and international businesses based on your desired criteria. Obtain additional information on industries, demographics and consumers.

Uniworld Online
Locate American firms operating in foreign countries or foreign firms operating in the United States.

International Directory of Company Histories
Use the search box to simultaneously search all volumes in the set for main entries and updates on your company, and other related content.

Corporate Affiliations Database
Identify a company's corporate hierarchy or family tree through this directory to determine who owns whom.

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations (in Gale Directory Library)
Click on "advanced search" on the Gale Directory Library home page and select this title to identify international organizations of interest.

Business Rankings Annual (in Gale Directory Library)
Click on "advanced search" on the Gale Directory Library home page and select this title to limit your search to this compilation of business and industry rankings.

Market Share Reporter (in Gale Directory Library)
Click on "advanced search" on the Gale Directory Library home page and select this title to limit your search to this collection of market share rankings for companies, industries, products and brands.

Industry Reports and Statistics

IBISWorld Market Research Reports and Analysis
Analyze the competitive landscape for U.S., global and Chinese industries and companies through IBISWorld's industry reports.

Mintel Oxygen
Gather information and analysis on companies, products, brands and consumers through Mintel's reports on consumer goods and services. Coverage is heavily U.S. and U.K. focused, but other geographies are represented.

Passport GMID
Explore Euromonitor's database for industry, consumer, country, economic, and company information and analysis. Scope is national, global, or country-specific. Market share rankings are listed by company and brand.