The Sheridan Libraries

Business

Locate key business information resources for academic research.

Related Guides

News and Articles

Search on your company in the core business article and news databases for intelligence on companies, products, bankruptcies, and corporate changes.

Company-Specific and Aggregated Analysis

Start with these databases to research partnerships, deals, ventures, mergers and acquisitions, bankruptcies, funding sources and any changes in corporate relationships.

Refinitiv Workspace (registration and access instructions))
Features in-depth information from Refinitiv (formerly Thomson Reuters) on global markets, companies, private equity, deals, ventures, alliances and mergers and acquisitions. Access market quotes, bond data, earnings estimates, current and historical financials and corporate filings, competitor analyses, ESG metrics, corporate governance information, press releases, deal data, company events, ownership profiles, and proprietary analyst research reports. Create customized reports using various templates.
PrivCo
Create your PrivCo account through this link with your JHU e-mail address to access basic information on major, non-publicly traded U.S. corporations, including family owned, private equity owned, venture backed, and international unlisted companies. Gather details on various types of financing arrangements and mergers and acquisitions.
Mergent Online by FTSE Russell
Track ownership, deals, and mergers and acquisitions, historically to the present, through the company profiles. Mergent archives the last available record for inactive companies. Search on a company or subsidiary in basic search, as well as perform a "text" search in "business history" in the Advanced Search screen.
SDC Platinum
Most of the SDC datasets on deals or mergers and acquisitions migrated to Refinitiv Workspace. The installed software from Refinitiv (formerly Thomson Reuters) still contains the "Joint Venture and Strategic Alliance" database. It is available to current faculty and students on designated terminals at the Carey Business School Harbor East Library and the Data Services Center of the Milton S. Eisenhower Library, on A-level. Ask your business librarian for assistance with accessing or reserving the terminal for this use.
S&P Netadvantage
S&P Market Intelligence’s database includes company profiles, analyst reports, and templates for customized searches. Among the screening options, one can choose options related to private equity/venture capital investment firms.
Mergent Intellect
Monitor corporate activities and changes through the live news and Twitter feeds within the company profiles in the business directory. View business description for mention of relationships and deals.
International Directory of Company Histories
Search for a company or its parent to see which volume contains most recent profile. Concise profiles reveal in-depth history, founders, personnel, deals, challenges, and mergers and acquisitions.
Gale Directory Library
From the Advanced Search screen, choose the Brands and Their Companies directory to match companies to their brands, Historical editions help to track changes over time.

Bloomberg Professional Service

Read this guide on the Bloomberg Professional Service first to learn more about this specialized software available to current faculty, staff and students for academic research. Log into your Bloomberg account from designated terminals at campus libraries for intelligence on deals and mergers and acquisitions.

Sample Mergers and Acquisitions (M & A) Content in Bloomberg:

M & A league tables [Year-to-date (YTD) top financial advisers--market share, dollar volume and number of announced global deals by adviser]
M & A transaction values (EURO, Northeast Asia, Global, U.S.)
Top deals announced (targets, acquirer, type, U.S. Dollar value)
All time largest U.S. deals
All time largest global deals
Largest deals in last 7 days
YTD terminated deals
All deals pending and disclosed
Todays announced deals
YTD announced deals for EURO, U.S., cross-border, and global
M & A statistics for 1) most active industries and 2) volume, average premium, and payment type by month
Global M & A volume
M & A news

Ways to Obtain:

Once logged in, type MAIN. Hit GO.
Either type MA and hit GO, or type mergers and hit GO.
Type a specific number and hit GO to see deeper layers of content within screens.
Type commands or shortcuts and hit GO to quickly retrieve particular content.

Statistical Abstract of the United States

This collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States includes data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. Browse the Business Enterprise section of the current or historical editions for tables related to Bankruptcies, Mergers and Acquisitions. Use the index to identify other relevant table numbers by topic. Topics vary by edition.

Electronic Access

Statistical Abstract of the United States (Current Edition)

Print Editions

The library also owns each print edition, from 1878 to the present. The print editions provide more comprehensive coverage than the electronic.

Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United States replaced Statistical Abstract of the United States. View this JHU Catalog record for print editions published since 2012.
Refer to this JHU Catalog record for access to historical editions.