Business

Locate key business information resources for academic research.

Sources of Health-Related Statistics

The Centers for Disease Control & Prevention (CDC) is a major source health care statistics.  Here are some links within the CDC website for various types of data.Photo of U.S. Capitol Building

  • CDC Home Page
    A good starting point for exploring the CDC. Find links to pages on specific diseases and conditions, a data & statistics section, statistics on accidents, etc.
  • CDC--Diseases & Conditions
    List of links to pages on specific diseases and conditions. Each page contains disease description, background, diagnosis and treatment info, incidence & prevalence stats, and links to non-governmental websites focusing on each disease.
  • CDC--Data & Statistics
    Links to pages with disease-specific stats, stats by state, health insurance access stats, disability info, birth and mortality data, cancer registry, risk factors, occupational hazards, and much more.
  • CDC--National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
    Use the FastStats feature to find data on how people use health services: hospital utilization statistics by diagnosis and procedure, ambulatory care, nursing home care, ER visits, hospice services, etc. Also is a source of stats on diseases and conditions.
  • CDC Wonder
    This is a public health database with statistics on causes of death, incidence of cancer and other acute and chronic diseases, behavioral risk factors, health and nutrition, environmental health, and much more.
  • Health Indicators Warehouse
    Website of links to a wide range of info sources, mostly from within the Department of Health & Human Services (HHS): statistics, health behaviors, women's health, public health, etc.
  • Health Services Research Information Central
    Maintained by the National Library of Medicine (NLM), this site is a huge collection of links to health information resources both inside and outside the federal government. Links are grouped by topic under the "Data, Tools & Statistics" section.
  • HCUPnet
    Maintained by the Agency for Healthcare Research & Quality, this is a web-searchable version of the more detailed (and harder to access) HCUP database. Covers utilization and expenditures on inpatient and outpatient health care services by ICD-9-CM code.
  • Medical Expenditure Panel Survey (MEPS).  A set of large-scale surveys of families and individuals, their medical providers (doctors, hospitals, pharmacies, etc.), and employers across the United States. MEPS collects data on the specific health services that Americans use, how frequently they use them, the cost of these services, and how they are paid for, as well as data on the cost, scope, and breadth of health insurance held by and available to U.S. workers.  Overseen by the Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ).
  • National Cancer Institute SEER database.  An enormous database of statistics about incidence of cancer, outcomes, and much more.  A lot of the information is free and easily searchable by type of cancer, type of data, and patient demographic characteristics.
  • Statistical Abstract of the United States
    A compendium of statistics, mostly from governmental sources, covering a wide range of fields in the U.S.: health care, industry, geography, state-specific statistics, manpower data, and much much more.
  • Chronic Disease Cost Calculator (CDC)
    Downloadable software/database to find state-level estimates of medical expenditures and absenteeism costs for the 6 most-common chronic conditions. Includes projections for future years.
  • Integrated Health Interview Survey (IHIS)
    Based on the U.S. National Health Interview Survey, IHIS is a source for downloadable, in-depth datasets capturing individuals' health and health care utilization behavior. While the datasets require knowledge of detailed statistical files, an online report generator produces ad hoc reports on a wide range of variables (e.g., "Do you have a regular health care provider?")
  • AAMC Physician Workforce Statistics.  Statistics on physicians by specialty and type of institution/location, nationally and by state.  New data are published each year.

These library-subscribed databases include statistics/data on a wide range of topics.  Keyword-search them to find sources you may have missed.

Statista: The Statistics Portal
Contains statistics and analysis on a wide range of topics, such as health care, economics, industry, market research, social issues, and much more.  Covers the globe.

Statistical Insight
Collects together documents, from a wide range of governmental and private sources, containing statistics and analysis on many topics including health care.

Statistical Datasets
Another resource similar to Statistical Insight, but with data mapping and table-creation capabilities.

DynaMed
Intended for clinical practitioners, contains voluminous global information on epidemiology and treatment of almost every disease and condition. Good source of statistics on incidence and prevalence of diseases.

Data & Statistics Research Guide
This is an entire online guide dedicated to sources of datasets on many topics.  The guide's creator, Jen Darragh, splits her time between the Homewood and East Baltimore campuses.  She is an excellent source of help on uncovering difficult-to-find data sources.

These private organizations often fund research on key topics that are not covered by federal agencies.  They also work in conjunction with federal agencies on certain projects.

 
National Cancer Institute Seer Database

Contains extensive data on health care use and expenditure variations by location within the U.S. (e.g., tonsillectomy rates by state), with an eye toward documenting disparities in access, efficiency, and cost. Data is presented by topic, region, and individual hospital.

An independent organization focusing on best practices in health care, alternative delivery systems, global health issues, chronic care, patient safety, and more--all focusing on creating the most rational, efficient, effective health care system possible.

IOM is the health care arm of the National Academy of Sciences. It is an independent organization that reports on policy issues independently and upon request by federal agencies. It has reported on public health, biomedical research, diseases, quality and patient safety, access and coverage, veterans' health, health care workforce, women's health, aging, and lots more.

This independent arm of Kaiser Permanente conducts extensive research on access to health care services, the impact of various insurance models on patient behavior, health reform, global health, and women's health issues.

Covers health care's effects on people's lifestyles, veterans' health issues, and numerous surveys that include questions on peoples use of health care services and attitudes toward health programs.

Point to the "Research" tab and click on "Health & Health Care" to find research, analysis, and quantitative info on various diseases, health care cost, health care facilities, health care quality, health economics, primary care, and many more topics

RWJ focuses on children's health, health care coverage, alternative delivery methods, disease prevention, vulnerable populations, nursing and much more.

Conducts research and writes in-depth reports on topics such as health system performance, health care delivery, health care coverage, vulnerable populations, state health policy, and health reform.

Loading