Find Books, Articles & More

How to find books and articles plus some extra tips and tricks.

Ask a Librarian

 


Call us: 410-516-8335
Text us: 410-692-8874
Email us: ask@jhu.libanswers.com
FAQs

Contact Regional Campus Librarians

What is a database?

A database is a collection of information that is organized for easy of access and management.  Many databases are focused in a particular topic, discipline, or even format, to help narrow the range of inforamtion being searched.  Databases can be used to find scholarly and non-scholarly information, articles, reports, and reviews, and even images.  Some databases, such as Academic Search Complete, are interdisciplinary - they contain information on a variety of topics in different fields.  Others, such as ERIC, are more specialized.  ERIC only provides information related to the education field.  Others might be more format based - ARTstor provides access to digital images in the arts, architecture, humanities, and sciences, and CiteSeer X provides resources such as algorithms, data, metadata, services, techniques, and software.

The Sheridan Libraries provides hundreds of databases for students to find and access the information they need.  Choosing the right database can be frustrating, but you can use the research guides to help you choose the best resources.  These guides can help point you in the right direction, but you can always ask a librarian for help choosing the right ones.

Find a Database

Already know the name of the database you need to search?  Find it in our A-Z list of databases.

Not sure where to find a database on a particular topic?  Take a look at our list of research guides for tips on where to start.

Database Tutorials

Loading