Use the encyclopedic resources below to develop a foundational knowledge of your subject. These resources are designed to give general definitions, contextual information, and basic bibliographic references to get you started on your research.

Anthropological Theory and Methodology

• Handbook of Economic Anthropology
• Research Methods for Cultural Studies
• Handbook of Methods in Cultural Anthropology (Physical Book)
• International Encyclopedia of the Social and Behavioral Sciences
• Research Methods in Anthropology: Qualitative and Quantitative Methods
• Encyclopedia of Social and Cultural Anthropology
• Companion Encyclopedia of Anthropology
• Concise Dictionary of Social and Cultural Anthropology
• Comparison in Anthropology: The Impossible Method
• Schools and Styles of Anthropological Theory

Geographic Resources

• Encyclopedia of World Cultures
  • North America
  • Oceania
  • South Asia
  • Europe
  • East and Southeast Asia
  • Russia and Eurasia/China
  • South America
  • Middle America and the Caribbean
  • Africa and the Middle East
• Africa: An Encyclopedia for Students 
• Encyclopedia of Islam and the Islamic World
• Encyclopedia of Modern Asia
• Ethnic Groups of South Asia and the Pacific
• Ethnic Groups of the Americas
• Ethnic Groups of North, East, and Central Asia
• Ethnic Groups of Europe

Selected Subject Resources

• Handbook of Economic Anthropology
• International Encyclopedia of Marriage and Family 
• Encyclopedia of Language and Linguistics
• Cambridge Handbook of Kinship
• Ethnomusicology: A Research and Information Guide
• The Handbook of Culture and Biology

Literature Reviews

The following resources provide subject-specific literature reviews in the field of anthropology. You can use these to stay abreast of the best and most current scholarship in the discipline. 

Reviews in Anthropology