Business
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Business
- Demographics, Industry Statistics
Need More?
Data and Statistics Research Guide
General and subject-specific statistical and demographic resources through the Sheridan Libraries.
Also view the Industry Overviews portion of this guide for reports that include demographic or consumer information.
Trade Associations
These tools identify associations, conferences, websites, and key resources for a topic or industry, which may lead you to statistics online or in publications.
-
Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
Online through Advanced Search in Gale Directory Library - Encyclopedia of Associations
Directory of region-specific, national, and international associations
Online through Advanced Search in Gale Directory Library
Need other sources?
Try a basic web search on your industry or market, combined with "statistics."
Use the library's core business article databases to get statistics from industry-specific publications.
Country Yearbooks
Statistical yearbooks or abstracts, released annually by foreign countries, contain official statistics. The library contains a set of these publications in microfiche format in the Data Center on A-level.
Selected yearbooks or abstracts for particular countries also are available as print reference materials. Use Catalyst, the JHU Libraries' catalog, to identify publications and locations.
Demographic Information
- Social ExplorerAn online research tool designed to provide quick and easy access to current and historical census data and demographic information. Create custom tables and maps from the very first Decennial Census to the latest Census, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. Very easy-to-use interface like the original American Fact Finder.
- Sage Data (formerly Data Planet)Sage Data allows you to create customized tables and maps from a wide range of data types, including demographic , health status and health service utilization , industry-specific activity, government and politics, education, and consumer market research.
- American Community SurveyThe American Community Survey (ACS) is a nationwide survey designed to show communities how they are changing. It is a critical element in the Census Bureau's re-engineered decennial census program. The ACS collects and produces population and housing information annually, instead of every ten years.
- SimplyAnalyticsThis web-based mapping and data analysis software makes it easy to create professional-quality thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business, and marketing data. Additional components include: Dun & Bradstreet business listings, Simmons Data, and Nielsen Claritas PRIZM. 5 concurrent users at a time are allowed. Create an account to save work, or log in as a guest. Please remember to log out when done.
- American FactFinderAmerican FactFinder provides useful statistics and facts about your community, your economy, and your society. The system will find and retrieve the information from some of the Census Bureau's largest data sets.
- ArcGIS Mapping SoftwareView this guide about this mapping software to plot and visually assess tabular data (businesses, Census data, health or crime statistics).
- ArcGIS Business AnalystThis CD-ROM includes business location data (over 10 million records) with selected information on sales and number of employees. Contains over 20 categories of consumer spending data, aggregated down to the block group level. Provides five and ten year population projections. Can search by industry codes and geography and visually plot business locations using ArcGIS mapping software. Updated annually.
Statistical Databases
In addition, consult these statistical databases and use the business article databases to find articles containing statistics on an industry, market, or product.
Statista
Statista.com integrates data on over 80,000 topics from over 18,000 sources. Categorized into 21 market sectors, Statista.com provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and other areas of interest or markets. Explore the additional modules and the Global Consumer Survey at the top.
Passport GMID
Euromonitor International's database of U.S. and international data and analysis on populations, markets, consumers, countries, and companies.
Bloomberg Financial Service
Real-time industry, financial, and economic data. Create an account with your JHU e-mail address from the designated Bloomberg terminals.
Economist Intelligence Unit
This suite of statistical services and reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit includes industry-specific, demographic, and economic news and data.
Statistical Insight
An index to statistical publications of the U.S. government, international organizations, state governments, and many non-governmental organizations. Search in tables or abstracts of publications for demographic or industry-specific data. Visit the GIS and Data Center and bring the document number (SRI number) to access publications inaccessible online.
Sage Data (formerly Data Planet)
Create your own table, graph, or chart for specific U.S. or international data at various geographic levels. Explore the EASI Market Planner for consumer information.
Connect by S&P (formerly IHS Markit Connect or Global Insight)
News, economic indicators, and a vast array of recent and historical business and economics data series for the domestic and international markets. Select "Data Browser" to access data subscriptions.
Additional Statistics, Business Rankings
These selected resources either contain industry statistics or lead you to resources that provide them. Check the JHU Libraries Catalog, Catalyst, for locations of older issues or additional copies.
- BizJournals Digital Portal (Baltimore Business Journal and Book of Lists)Regional business journal and rankings for local businesses and organizations in Baltimore, Maryland by industry or type of business. Use BizJournals Digital Portal for similar research on other U.S. cities.
- BizJournals Digital Portal (Washington Business Journal and Book of Lists)Regional business journal and rankings for local businesses and organizations in Washington D.C. by industry or type of business. Use BizJournals Digital Portal for similar research on other U.S. cities.
- County Business PatternsProvides county, state, and national level business data from 1977 to the most recent year available. Statistics include number of establishments, payroll (annual and 1st quarter), number of employees, and number of establishments by size class for 2 digit Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) industry groupings. The Bureau of the Census collects this data annually. This resource is published by University of Virginia Library's Geospatial and Statistical Data Center.
- Economic Census ProgramsProvides tools and information to help businesses prepare for response to the Economic Census and learn more about using the U.S. Census Bureau data. The Economic Census is the U.S. Government's official five-year measure of American business and the economy. It is conducted by the U.S. Census Bureau for years ending in '2' and '7'. The Economic Census is the most comprehensive source of information about American businesses from the national to the local level. Published statistics cover more than 1,000 industries, 15,000 products, every state, over 3,000 counties, 15,000 cities and towns, and Puerto Rico and other U.S. Island Areas.
- Market Share Reporter and Business Rankings Annual (in Gale Directory Library)From the Advanced Search screen in the Gale Library Directory, separately search each of these directories to find market share or other rankings for companies, products and brands by category. Check the JHU Libraries catalog for location of prior editions to assess changes over time.
- Proquest Statistical Abstract of the United StatesConsult the JHU catalog for print copies other than M-Level Reference HA 202. Basic source to use for a wide variety of demographic, business, economic, and industrial statistics from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. Includes selected international data. Use the Index to find topics and corresponding table numbers. Our library owns the Statistical Abstract in print since the first edition in 1878. Image files of Historical Statistical Abstract are now also online. Online access is not as comprehensive as the print edition.
- Survey of Current BusinessThe monthly Survey of Current Business is the Bureau of Economic Analysis' (BEA) definitive source of information about its economic accounts. Articles present the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates; describe the methodologies used; provide information about major revisions; discuss on-going innovations; and generally update users about relevant BEA issues and initiatives. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates, as well as a message from BEA’s director.
- Business Statistics of the United StatesCall Number: HC 101.A13122Concise tables of recent and historical business and economic data.