The American Civil War Research Database™ is the definitive online resource for researching the individuals, regiments, and battles of the American Civil War. Originally created by Historical Data Systems, Inc., the database contains indexed, searchable information on over 4 million soldiers and thousands of battles, together with 15,000 photographs. With thousands of regimental rosters and officer profiles, the database will continue to grow as new information is loaded semiannually.
ARTbibliographies Modern (ABM) provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition reviews on all forms of modern and contemporary art, with approximately 12-13,000 new entries being added each year. Entries date back as far as the late 1960s. ABM is the premier source of information on modern and contemporary arts dating from the late 19th century onwards, and including photography since its invention.
The AP Images database provides a sensory journey of photographs, audio sound bites, graphics and text spanning over 160 years of history. Student comprehension and recall skills will improve with visually stimulating imagery meant for use in research papers, theses, reports and PowerPoint presentations. From simple keyword searching to more complex searches such as concept, color, and category, users will enhance their research by accessing over one million photographs dating back to 1826 and a
.Databases A-Z List databases matching: 964 databases
1 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Z | 1[ Back to top ] .17th & 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers The newspapers and news pamphlets gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757 - 1817) represent the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media. The 700 or so bound volumes of newspapers and news pamphlets were pub
With its debut in 1842 the Illustrated London News became the world's first illustrated weekly newspaper, sparking a revolution in journalism and news reporting. The publication presented a vivid picture of British and world events - including news of war, disasters, royalty, social affairs, the arts and science.
The Image Collection consists of a wide array of photos and maps, with an emphasis on world news and events. Other areas of coverage include contemporary and historical photos of people, places and the natural kingdom.
This resources provides access to thousands of images in the prints and photographs collection of the History of Medicine Division (HMD) of the U.S. National Library of Medicine (NLM). The collection includes portraits, pictures of institutions, caricatures, genre scenes, and graphic art in a variety of media, illustrating the social and historical aspects of medicine.
Covering 42 periodicals published in the United States during the 19th century, this database is the sole online index to virtually all the art journals published in that period. The entire contents of each issue is indexed—articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements. This makes the Index to 19th-Century American Art Periodicals—in addition to its coverage of artists and illustrators, painting, sculpture, drawing, photography, architecture and design, exhibitions a
SpringerImages is a growing collection of scientific images that spans the scientific, technical and medical fields, including high-quality clinical images from images.MD. The continually updated collection – currently over 1.5 million images – gathers photos, graphs, histograms, figures, and tables, and is available to libraries and their patrons via a searchable online database.