Latin American Studies

Primary Sources

The following is a selected list of primary sources in Latin American Studies available on the Web. They are produced by various research institutes and archives and are organized by geographic areas: general Latin America, Central America, Caribbean, South America.

General Latin America

Latin American Pamphlet Digital Collection
"More than 5,000 titles including many scarce and unique Latin American pamphlets published during the 19th and the early 20th centuries. Chile, Cuba, Bolivia and Mexico are the countries most heavily represented in this collection."

Latin American Studies
List of links dealing with all aspects and nations of Latin America maintained by the University of Texas Latin American Network Information Center. Also see Internet Resources for Latin America and Historical Text Archive.

Linking the Americas
Stanford University Libraries' project to digitize a collection of Stanford University Press titles dealing with Latin America and some rare and manuscript materials.                                                                                          

Central America

Guatemala

CIA and Assassinations: The Guatemala 1954 Documents
Part of the National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book series at George Washington University. Provides a brief overview and copies of declassified documents. See also Colonel Byron Disrael Lima Estrada, US Policy in Guatemala, 1966-1996, Guatemalan Death Squad Dossier and Guatemalan Military: What the US Files Reveal.

Panama

Make the Dirt Fly
Smithsonian exhibit dealing with the building of the Panama Canal

Mexico

Legislacion Mexicana 1687-1901  

First 11 volumes of the classic printed collection of Mexican legislation.

Mexican Presidential Messages

Collection of presidential messages from the 19th through 20th century.

Mexico from Empire to Revolution 

Exhibit with images and narrative from the Getty Research Institute. 

Tlatelolco Massacre

Part of the National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book series at George Washington University. Provides a brief overview and copies of declassified documents.

Zapatistas! Documents of the New Mexican Revolution

"!Zapatistas! contains the full, English language text of every communique published (along with several that were not published, as well as many interviews, letters, and essays) from the Zapatista National Liberation Army (EZLN) from December 31, 1993 through June 12, 1994."

Caribbean

Cuba

Castro Speech Database
Searchable database of Castro speeches transcribed and translated into English.

Cuban Heritage Digital Collection
"The Cuban Heritage Digital Collection (CHDC) is a digital gateway to finding aids and primary sources selected from the Cuban Heritage Collection (CHC) of the Otto G. Richter Library at the University of Miami. It is currently comprised of archival collection finding aids and the digitized content of those collections, including photographs, letters, manuscripts, and other documents."

Death of Che Guevara
Part of the National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book series at George Washington University. Provides a brief narrative and a selection of declassified documents. See also Bay of Pigs, Kennedy and Castro, Cuban Missile Crisis and Beisbol Diplomacy.

Spanish-American War in Motion Pictures
Presentation of "68 motion pictures produced between 1898 and 1901 of the Spanish-American War and the subsequent Philippine Revolution." Part of American Memory.

Puerto Rico

Puerto Rican Needleworkers during the New Deal
Collection of transcribed documents dealing with the implementation of theNational Industrial Recovery Act in Puerto Rico in 1933.

Puerto Rico at the Dawn of the Modern Age "Portrays the early history of the commonwealth of Puerto Rico through first-person accounts, political writings, and histories." Part of American Memory.

Trinidad & Tobago

Colonial Bank Correspondence, 1837-1885
This collection of letters consists of the incoming correspondence to the Colonial Bank in Trinidad from its inception in 1837 to 1885.

Diaries of Sir William Young
Diaries of the governor of Tobago in the early 19th century.

South America

Argentina

Argentine Presidential Messages
Collection of presidential messages from the 19th through 20th century.

Biblioteca Digital
Ministry of Education's links to historical material.

San Martin: Los documentos del Cruce
"Este certamen propuso investigar y explorar la gesta del Cruce de los Andes, para recrear el comienzo del proceso libertador."

Protesta Humana
Digitized version of the Argentinian anarcho-syndicalist paper from 1897 to 1902.

Brazil

Brazilian Government Document Digitization Project
Center for Research Libraries project to "digitize executive branch serial documents issued by Brazil's national government during the period between 1821 and 1993, and by its provincial governments from the earliest available for each province to the end of the Empire to 1889."

Chile

Chile and the United States
Part of the National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book series at George Washington University. Provides a brief narrative and declassified documents dealing with the military coup of 1973.

Peru

Archivo Fotografico Courret
Searchable archive of Eugenio Courret's photographs of Peru taken between 1863-1935.

Peru in the Eye of the Storm
Part of the National Security Archive Electronic Briefing Book series at George Washington University. Provides a brief narrative and declassified documents dealing with human rights abuses and political violence during the 1980s and 1990s.

E- Resources/ Digital Collections