Find Journal Articles, News, and More
- Start Here -- Save Your Time!
- Background and Overviews
- Journal Articles and More
- Google Scholar and Google Books
- What's the News?
- What Papers Have Been Cited the Most?
- Citing and Writing
- Plagiarism Tutorials
Save your time! Use these search techniques:
- Put quotation marks around PHRASES (two or more words), so that the words are searched together
--- Example: "chicken pox"
- Put an asterisk at the end of words, so that you get all of the word endings
--- Example: high* = high, highs, higher, highest
- Think of alternate spellings or synonyms
--- "cyber security" OR cybersecurity -- it's used both ways. You should also add "information security" OR "computer security"
- Start by putting your search words in the Title. If you get nothing, you can take them out of the Title and move them to "Anywhere."
Use journal articles to get:
a narrow or specific part of your topic
1. Find databases by Name or by Subject on the library home page:
2. To see what a database covers, click the little round "i" button next to its name:
4. Law, Policy, Political Science -- Use the databases in the list for Military and Strategic Studies
- Jane's provides a filter for "country/region" to help you narrow search results
- TRAC (Terrorism Research and Analysis Consortium) is updated in real time. Look here first to see how it works.
- CQ Researcher (Congressional Quarterly) -- Browse topics to get an overview. (United States only).
Go to Browse Reports --> Issue Tracker --> pick one, then organize the list by date
- For more help, contact Yunshan Ye, the librarian listed on the left of this page
5. Current Affairs and News
- The "core" Business databases are great, especially ABI/INFORM
- Gartner Advisory Intraweb -- Short articles and reports about the technology and communications industries
Start with "Advanced Search":
Just like all of the other databases, use the other features to FOCUS your search. Remember to start by putting your words in the TITLE, or TITLE and SUMMARY, and put PHRASES in quotation marks:
- You cannot search the whole Gartner website at once. Here is a site map to help you find specific parts of the database
- "Archived" means that the item is more than 1 year old
- Here is their "IT Glossary" -- there are a few terms on the bottom, but use the alphabetical list to search for what you want
6. Broad Search -- Any database on the EBSCO platform or the PROQUEST platform will allow you to search ALL of the databases on that platform. On the library home page, use Articles and Databases --> Databases --> Database by Name. Then:
- Choose "Academic Search Complete," and check any other EBSCO databases that you want to search
- Choose "ProQuest All Subscribed Content" -- That's a lot, so start by putting your search terms in the TITLE
7. Very Broad Search -- Google Scholar
- In addition to the specialized databases listed above, some of your topics might benefit from a carefully focused Google Scholar search -- here's an example of using the Advanced Search to get decent results in Scholar (although still too many)
In all databases as well as Google Scholar, always use "Advanced Search."
- This will let you focus your search to get better results, as well as save you a lot of time
In all library databases plus Google Scholar, the FINDIT@JHU link will show you all of the ways that you can get an article.
- On a Hopkins computer, Google Scholar automatically shows you FIND IT@JHU links
- But on a non-Hopkins device (like your laptop), you should either
--- log in through the portal (my.jhu.edu)
--- go to the library home page , choose "Articles and Databases," and use the "Google Scholar" tab
--- configure Scholar to show you the links: in the upper left corner, click the icon (shown above) --> Settings --> Library Links --> Save
If you do not see "FIND IT" next to a citation, look below the citation and click on the little arrow. Usually, the FINDIT link will magically appear.
- Google Scholar will take you to Google Books
- But never pay for a book! Search the library catalog for the book you want -- if we have it online, you can see 100% of it
- If we do not have a book at all, you can request it through BorrowDirect or Interlibrary Loan (on the library home page under "Request Materials")
What journal articles are the most used? Which ones have been cited the most often?
Three databases now tell you the answer. (Remember that newer articles will not have had time to be cited by other authors.)
- Web of Science -- sort by "times cited"
- Scopus -- sort by "times cited"
- Google Scholar -- tells you how many times each article has been cited, but you can't sort by that
NOTE: Google Scholar's number will almost always be wrong. It will be too high, because Scholar adds things that are not appropriate, such as lecture notes and Powerpoint slides.
How To Cite Sources
The library's Citing guide gives examples for the three main reference styles and some others.
Citation Managers -- These let you export citations FROM databases INTO the manager, so that you can put them into separate folders, and bring out a bibliography in whatever style you want
RefWorks -- RefWorks is the citation manager that is supported by JHU -- read about it on the next tab!
For Writing Help
Plagiarism -- It is extremely important to make sure that your writing does not use someone else's work without properly acknowledging it. Even "paraphrasing" (putting someone else's writing into your own words) must be done in a very careful way.
These tutorials will help you learn the basics of avoiding plagiarism. You will always need to know this, not only during your academic career, but throughout your professional career, too.