Public Health

Articles, books, statistics, how to cite references, and more information about the multidisciplinary field of public health.

BACKGROUND INFORMATION

The JHU libraries have access to almost any article, conference paper, book, or other material that you might need.

  • Because you are affiliated with the School of Public Health, your "home" library is Welch Medical Library. Therefore, you should request books through links on their home page. [More information under the tab "Getting Books and E-books]
     
  • You already have particular government sites to which you regularly go for information. However, if you want to see most or all of the listings for a particular topic on a U.S. government site, use usa.gov.

To get articles from most journals:

  • Search a database or Google Scholar
  • Click the icons that say FIND IT@JHU or JHU Full Text
  • The "Find It" page will list the links to the full text
  • To find specific databases, use MSEL library home page --> Articles and Databases --> Databases
  • (Note that the default search box for "Articles" consists only of these 38 EBSCO databases, which are fine for an overview, but most are not very specialized.)

Note:  To see FIND IT links, and also to avoid demands for payment: on your NON-Hopkins device, either use Hopkins wireless or log in through my.jhu.edu.

For journals not owned by JHU, or if we don't have access:

  • On the Welch home page, under "Quick Links" (on the left), use Weldoc (interlibrary loan for East Baltimore affiliates)

------------------------------

Google Scholar

On a Hopkins computer, Google Scholar automatically shows you FIND IT@JHU  links.

But on a non-Hopkins device (like your laptop), you should

  1. log in through the portal (my.jhu.edu), OR
  2. go to the library home page and use the "Google Scholar" tab so that you can see the links to our full text ("FIND IT")

If you don't see "FIND IT" next to the citation, click on "More," which is *below* the citation. It will turn into "FIND IT."

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
In your Google Scholar list of article results, you may also see books.

  1. If you click on the title, Google Scholar will take you to Google Books
  2. However, copyright law prevents them from showing you the whole book
  3. Search the library catalog for the book you want -- if we have it, you can see 100% of it
  4. Remember that if we do not have a book in any format, you can request it through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan 

Because you are affiliated with the School of Public Health, your "home" library is Welch Medical Library. Therefore, you should request books through links on their home page.

For JHU books:

  • Find it in the library catalog
  • Use the "Request" button (a few things are not requestable, such as books on Reserve)
  • Choose the most convenient library location to pick up your books
  • E-books -- as well as ALL books and materials, no matter the format -- are in the catalog

    - - Some e-books have restrictions on various things (e.g., Safari only allows 9 simultaneous users) 
    - - Here is our guide to e-books for more information

For books not owned by JHU:

On the Welch home page, look under "Quick Links" (on the left)

  • Borrow Direct
    --  books arrive in 3-5 business days
    -- choose the most convenient library location to pick up your books.
  • If you can't get it through BD, use Weldoc to interlibrary loan
    -- through Weldoc, the list of locations will be only East Baltimore campus; through MSEL, the entire list will appear
    -- you will get a note saying that your book is at Eisenhower, then you will get another note saying that the book is wherever you specified
    -- for interlibrary loaned books, if you use MSEL and choose Harbor East as the pickup location, a librarian must be present to give you your book (so call first)

Every department and program across JHU has a librarian.

When you need information about a topic, please feel free to send a note to a librarian who works with that field.

If you're not sure who to contact, please send me a note (svazakas@jhu.edu) and I'll be happy to forward your question to whomever is best.

You can trace lines of research through articles. When you find a good article about a topic, you can then see what later articles cited that first one, because the later articles were possibly working on the same topic.

There are three general databases that show who has cited an article: 

  • Web of Science
  • Scopus
  • Google Scholar

Unfortunately, they all provide different numbers of results. To be thorough, you need to check all three of them.

  • Google Scholar will be the least accurate, because it includes many non-peer-reviewed items such as class lecture notes and preprints.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

WEB OF SCIENCE

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SCOPUS

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
GOOGLE SCHOLAR

 

 

Loading

SPECIALIZED INFORMATION

Both the Welch and Eisenhower (MSEL) libraries have research guides about specific topics.

For almost every field, these guides provide various kinds of information such as background, books and journals, and specialized resources. (Do not be cowed by the large number of guides -- there is necessarily a lot of duplication of information.)

  • Welch guides -- choose "Subjects" from the top of the page
  • MSEL guides -- choose "Guides by topic" and then choose the first box

 

Librarians who can help:

  • Jim Gillispie, GIS and Data Services on A Level, jeg@jhu.edu
  • Yunshan Ye, Political Science Librarian, yye@jhu.edu

These gentlemen are both very smart and incredibly nice. Please send them a note whenever you need help with laws, patents, regulations, or other government or legal information.

Guides by Topic --> News and Newspapers 

  • The sources under "Core" are current U.S. newspapers
  • Under "U.S. Newspapers," ProQuest Newsstand has the major U.S. papers plus many non-major ones

Science and business news can be found in several places, including:

  • General Science Full-text -- This database includes articles from scholarly and trade publications, including Science, Nature, and the New York Times
  • ABI/INFORM -- This is a business database, which includes news about new products and other business-related topics

The guide to Citing Sources includes information on specific citation styles and more.

  • Remember that online sources require more information, such as date accessed
  • Always err on the side of too much information rather than not enough

RefWorks is the bibliographic citation manager that is supported by JHU.

Loading