Find Journal Articles, News, Conference Papers, and More
- Start Here -- Save Your Time!
- Background Information
- Journal Articles and More
- What Papers Have Been Cited the Most?
- Google Scholar and Google Books
- What's the News?
- Citing, Writing, and RefWorks
Save your time! Use these search techniques:
- Put quotation marks around PHRASES (two or more words), so that the words are searched together
--- Example: "chicken pox"
- Put an asterisk at the end of words, so that you get all of the word endings
--- Example: high* = high, highs, higher, highest
- Think of alternate spellings or synonyms
--- Example: healthcare or "healthcare"; malfunction or failure
- Start by putting your search words in the Title. If you get nothing, you can take them out of the Title and move them to "Anywhere."
Before you get to the specific information such as articles or statistics, get an overview of your topic:
Books -- Look in the library catalog (called "Catalyst") to find books about your topic
- All print books and e-books are in the catalog
2) AccessMedicine -- This is a searchable e-book collection. The results will be *chapters* from handbooks and textbooks.
- Refine your search by using the choices on the left
3) PubMed -- Look for REVIEW ARTICLES
- Do your search
- On the left, under "Article types," click "Review"
Other Subject Databases of Interest
- On the library home page, go to "Databases by Topic"
- Choose Medicine, Sociology, Psychology, Political Science, or others, and search the databases under "Core"
Use journal articles to get:
- a narrow or specific part of your topic
- up-to-date information
Find databases by Name or by Subject on the library home page:
To see what a database covers, click the little round "i" button next to its name:
Databases with articles and news about worldwide migration, policy, and more:
- Access World News
- CQ Researcher
- OECD iLibrary
- Policy File (including many think-tank reports)
- World Bank E-Library
What journal articles are the most used? Which ones have been cited the most often?
Three databases now tell you the answer. (Remember that newer articles will not have had time to be cited by other authors.)
- Web of Science -- sort by "times cited"
- Scopus -- sort by "times cited"
- Google Scholar -- tells you how many times each article has been cited, but you can't sort by that
NOTE: Google Scholar's number will almost always be wrong. It will be too high, because Scholar adds things that are not appropriate, such as lecture notes and Powerpoint slides.
In all databases as well as Google Scholar, always use "Advanced Search."
- This will let you focus your search to get better results, as well as save you a lot of time
In all library databases plus Google Scholar, the FINDIT@JHU link will show you all of the ways that you can get an article.
- On a Hopkins computer, Google Scholar automatically shows you FIND IT@JHU links
- But on a non-Hopkins device (like your laptop), you should either
--- log in through the portal (my.jhu.edu)
--- go to the library home page , choose "Articles and Databases," and use the "Google Scholar" tab
--- configure Scholar to show the links to you: in the upper left corner, click the little icon with 3 lines; choose "Settings"; choose "Library Links"; click "Save
If you do not see "FIND IT" next to a citation, look below the citation and click on the little arrow. Usually, the FINDIT link will magically appear.
- Google Scholar will take you to Google Books
- But never pay for a book! Search the library catalog for the book you want -- if we have it online, you can see 100% of it
- If we do not have a book at all, you can request it through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan (on the library home page under "Request Materials")
In addition to news, news items can also provide the names of information sources about your topics.
- Here is the list of newspapers and other news sources
For business news: the best database is ABI/INFORM, and the other two under CORE
- Library home page --> Databases by Topic --> Business --> CORE
For law, regulations, and related topics, start with CQ Researcher
- Choose "Hot Topics," then "Health"
- sort by date
The library's Citing guide gives examples for the three main reference styles and some others.
RefWorks -- RefWorks is the citation manager that is supported by JHU. It is free for you.