Baltimore

Selected resources for research on the city of Baltimore.

Baltimore City Archives

 

Baltimore City Archives

2615 Mathews Street
Baltimore, MD 21218

(This is just east of Greenmount Avenue and south of 28th Street.) 

You must make an appointment to visit. -- here is more information, including the hours of operation.

 

Finding Records at the Archives

Here is information about how the Archives' information is organized, and some specific topics about which they have information, including church records and police records.

Here is some history:

  • During the 1930s, the Works Progress Administration (WPA) funded a project to index the Baltimore City Archives
  • The project produced two finding aids: a card file and a typescript inventory of records 
  • Both of these have been microfilmed, scanned, and put online by the Maryland State Archives (MSA)
  • The typescript inventory is organized chronologically. It has the MSA collection number CE 40 and has been put online

In the 1980s the Archives was reorganized into Record Groups, and William LeFurgy published a guide describing  the Archives by Record Group.

  • There is a guide translating WPA numbers to the new Record Group number system
  • Many of the record groups were microfilmed, and security copies were deposited at the Maryland State Archives. It is part of the Special Collections MSA SC 5636. A listing of the microfilm reels is on-line.

Also, there is a separate guide to the records of the Mayor and City Council prepared by in 1981.