Data and Statistics

Learn how to access data and statistics on a variety of topics.

Data Requests via the Data Fund

The Data Fund provides JHU researchers the opportunity to make requests for known datasets that are not readily accessible via the library data subscriptions. Each year, the library is able to provide a small amount of funding to a select number of researchers to facilitate their use of secondary data.

If you have a specific need for secondary proprietary data without security or access restrictions that cannot be obtained by other means please submit a request using the form below for consideration.

Data Fund Purchase Request Form

Please note that submission of the form is not a guarantee of funding. Applicants will receive communication from the data and statistics consultant who will work with the researcher and the academic liaisons within the researcher's discipline to discuss the next steps for the potential use of Data Fund resources to gain access to secondary data. (Undergraduate researchers must have the endorsement of a faculty member to apply. While funds may be made available for undergraduate research projects in special circumstances, the fund's primary mission is to fund data for faculty and graduate student research.)

How To Access ICPSR

1. Log in to http://www.icpsr.umich.edu from a campus-connected computer.  Alternatively, if you are not on campus, you can click on the link within this guide (see the box below) to be authenticated with your JHED ID.

2. Create a MyData account.  Click on the purple Find & Analyze Data Box.  At the top left of the page, click on Log In/Create Account.  You must have this account in order to download data.  It is separate from your JHED. Click on ICPSR MyData look for New User, click on Create Account. Please do not use Google or Facebook. Upon account creation you are able to login immediately.

3. Login to MyData account.  Once you have your account, you'll want to make sure you log in to the site before searching.   

4. Search for Data.  To do this, make sure you are at the Find & Analyze Data portion of the site. You can search by keyword or by dataset title (if you know it), or use the links to search by topic or by series (for well-known longitudinal studies this is helpful).

5. Browse the Documentation.  Before you download data, browse the codebook (and the User Guide if available) to make sure that the variables you need for analysis are present in the data, and that the sample is appropriate.

6. Download the Data.  Download the data in the desired format.  Most datasets are available in SPSS, SAS and Stata.  If you would like to work with the programming code, you can choose to download the ASCII file and the appropriate programminc code (again, usually available for SPSS, SAS and Stata).  If the format you want is NOT available, please contact me.

7. Use the Data.  If you need help contact me.

ICPSR and its archives

As one of the largest archives of datasets in the world, ICPSR has a vast collection of social and behavioral science datasets.  These datasets can be used in a multitude of fields such as sociology, political science, history, business, public health, economics, and education.  Data can be downloaded in ASCII format with statistical formatting, or in ready to use formats such as SPSS system (.sav extension), SAS Transport (.xpt extension), SPSS Portable (.por extension) and Stata data file (.dta extention).  There also is an online analysis system available for some datasets that allows you to perform some analyses online (good for exploratory purposes and to create quick stats).
 
ICPSR "Partner Archives"
The main ICPSR data archive contains records for all datasets in the collection, but sometimes it is easier to start with a narrower subset.  ICPSR has several well-known thematic archives such as the National Archive of Criminal Justice Data (NACJD), the Minority Data Resource Center (MDRC), the  National Archive of Computerized Data on Aging (NACDA), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Data Archive (SAMHDA), and the Terrorism & Preparedness Data Resource Center (TPDRC).  Click on the link above to view the entire list of thematic collections.