Data and Statistics

Learn how to locate data and statistics on a variety of topics.

Local Demographics Resource

For local-area data from the Census, use Social Explorer rather than American Fact Finder if you plan to use ArcGIS or a statistical package such as Stata or SPSS - you will get a MUCH better formatted file that is ready-to-use with no clean-up needed.

Demographic Data and Statistics

American Fact Finder
A utility from the United States Census Bureau.  Here you can access tables (and in some case create custom tables) and thematic maps from the American Community Survey, the Puerto Rican Community Survey, Annual Population Estimates, Business Patterns, Economic Census, Annual Survey of Manufacturers, etc. Please note that this utility is best used for online viewing or to pull PDF versions of tables.  The data download can be quite cumbersome and, in some cases, not sufficient for high-level data work (use Social Explorer instead for high-level data work).  TIP: Pick your geography FIRST, then pick your dataset or topic (both are under the topics menu).

Note: CensusDVD and CensusCD by Geolytics (DVD- and CD-ROMs available at GPML for use in-house) We have many census data products available from Geolytics for you to use and extract data from.  Coverage is from 1970 to the latest decennial census release.  Typically these data resources are used for GIS data mapping.  To search our holdings, go to the JHU Libraries Catalog and search for Geoltyics as author.  For more information about GIS support in the Sheridan Libraries see our GIS and Maps guide.

Data.gov
This is the government's portal to all statistics and data collected by U.S. Government agencies.  It is a little cluttered and tricky to use, BUT if you use the filter options at the left on the Raw Data page, you will have an easier time navigating to what you need.

Data Sharing for Demographic Research (DSDR)
DSDR is a project of ICPSR in collaboration with the Carolina Population Center at the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, the Minnesota Population Center at the University of Minnesota, and the Population Studies Center at the University of Michigan. DSDR supports research investigators--both those who collect data and those who wish to use data--in dealing with complex data and data requiring special security.  For data users, the most useful feature is that you can locate and access survey data beyond ICPSR's archive at the other collaborator institutions.

General Social Survey (GSS)
Conducts basic scientific research on the structure and development of American society with a data-collection program designed to both monitor social change within the United States and to compare the United States to other nations.  You can explore the latest cumulative iteration of the GSS using interactive online data analysis software (see Data Analysis using SDA).

Historical Statistics of the United States
This thoroughly revised five-volume reference work, available both in print and electronic editions, reflects thirty years of new data and scholarship. Topics ranging from migration and health to crime and the Confederate States of America are each placed in historical context by a recognized expert in the field.

IPUMS Series
A project of the Minnesota Population Center (MPC), the IPUMS is divided into three series - IPUMS-USA, IPUMS-International, and IPUMS-CPS.  Each data series is accessible through a user-friendly web interface where you can search for variables and then create and download customized datasets.  The IPUMS-USA contains harmonized data on people from the decennial census and American Community Survey from 1850 to present.  IPUMS-International contains harmonized data from 1960 to present on over 279 million people in 130 censuses from around the world.  The IPUMS-CPS contains harmonized data from the Current Population Survey March File from 1962 to the present.  Other MPC datasets are also available.

OECD iLibrary
OECD iLibrary contains all the publications and datasets released by OECD (Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development), International Energy Agency (IEA), Nuclear Energy Agency (NEA), OECD Development Centre, PISA (Programme for International Student Assessment), and International Transport Forum (ITF) since 1998.  Click on Statistics link at the top to go directly to the Statistics section.

ProQuest Statistical Insight
Proquest Statistical Insight (formerly LexisNexis) is an index to statistical publications of the U.S. government, international organizations, state governments, and many non-governmental organizations. While it may not always deliver the statistics to you in full, it does give you the source (remember, it is ultimately an index).

SimplyAnalytics
SimplyAnalytics (formerly SimplyMap) is an online geospatial data product that allows the novice user to quickly create thematic maps and reports using extensive demographic, business and marketing data.  You can analyze data down to the block group. Knowledge of ArcGIS is NOT required.  If you would like to save your work, it is recommended that you create an account separate from your JHED (otherwise choose guest).  Please note that we currently only allow 5 concurrent users.

Social Explorer
Allows you to create custom tables and maps from the first Census to the latest Census, the American Community Survey, and the Religious Congregations and Membership Study. An excellent tool for the novice user while also allowing more sophisticated data download capabilities for use with ArcGIS (.csv format) and stat packages such as Stata.

Sage Stats
Comprehensive data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. You'll find reliable, easy-to-use data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years.

Statistical Abstract of the United States
Basic source to use for a wide variety of statistics. Contains a collection of statistics on social and economic conditions in the United States. Selected international data are also included. The Statistical Abstract is also a good guide to other data from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. The online version is in PDF. Use the Index pages to find topics and the corresponding table numbers. Our library owns the Statistical Abstract in print from the first edition 1878-present. Image files of Historical Statistical Abstract are now also on line.

Statistical Datasets from Data-Planet/Conquest
Statistical Datasets (formerly ProQuest) allows you to create customized tables and charts from a variety of data resources.

The United Nations Statistics Division (UNSD) of the Department of Economic and Social Affairs (DESA) launched an internet-based data service for the global user community. It brings UN statistical databases (including UNESCO, WHO, and UNAIDS) within easy reach of users through a single entry point where users can now search and download a variety of statistical resources.  You can manipulate data by the use of filters and pivot tables, and can download files in XML, comma, semicolon or pipe delimited.  Note that documentation is not included with much of the data, which can make interpretation of values difficult.  Also, data will not always be available for all countries, in all subjects, in all years.  The source of the data is always listed below your data table if the data are unclear.  

 

Labor and Workforce

You can use American Fact Finder to look at income, manufacturing, business ownership for Baltimore City.  Remember to pick your geography FIRST.

The Office of Workforce Information and Performance of the Maryland Department of Labor provides up-to-date information on the Maryland Labor force including current employment and unemployment rates, the job market, listings of major employers, commuting patterns and wage data.

Bureau of Labor and Statistics
The Bureau of Labor and Statistics is part of the of the U.S. Department of Labor is the principal Federal agency responsible for measuring labor market activity, working conditions, and price changes in the economy. Its mission is to collect, analyze, and disseminate essential economic information to support public and private decision-making. This data link takes you to databases, tables, and calculators on numerous topics such as employment, wages and benefits, and productivity.

Bureau of Labor and Statistics: Subject Area Categories
Even more data from the BLS, arranged according to subject area with additional tables and related publications.

 

Crime

Bureau of Justice Statistics
The BJS collects, analyzes, publishes, and disseminates information on crime, criminal offenders, victims of crime, and the operation of justice systems at all levels of government.

Child Abuse and Neglect Statistics
These resources provide State, national, and international data and statistics on the incidence of child abuse and neglect and fatalities due to child abuse and neglect. Information on data sources and estimated costs of abuse and neglect is also included.

Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Data Resource Center
The Domestic Violence and Sexual Assault Data Resource Center provides information on how data are collected and used in the states. Funded by the Bureau of Justice Statistics, the purpose of the Center is to provide information to researchers, practitioners and members of the public interested in finding, using, or understanding domestic and sexual violence and stalking data.  This is a secondary source that leads you to the primary statistics and data sources.

FBI Uniform Crime Reports
The Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Program was started in 1929 by the International Association of Chiefs of Police to meet a need for reliable, uniform crime statistics for the nation.  In 1930 the FBI was tasked with the collecting, publishing and archiving of those statistics.  Annual reports such as Crime in the United States, Hate Crimes Statistics, and Law Enforcement Officers Killed and Assaulted are also published by the FBI based on the statistics collected. 

Sage Stats
Comprehensive data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. You'll find reliable, easy-to-use data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years.