Data and Statistics

Learn how to locate data and statistics on a variety of topics.

Local Health Resources

The Baltimore City Health Department has a wealth of statistical information about the state of Baltimoreans' health.

The Maryland Department of Health and Mental Hygiene should also be a first stop for searching for health-related information pertaining to our city and region.

The Johns Hopkins Center for a Livable Future is an excellent place to find information on the availability, or lack therof, of healthy food options for Baltimoreans.

Health

Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ)
The Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality (AHRQ) is the lead Federal agency charged with improving the quality, safety, efficiency, and effectiveness of health care for all Americans. As one of 12 agencies within the Department of Health and Human Services, AHRQ supports health services research that will improve the quality of health care and promote evidence-based decisionmaking.  See the "Data & Surveys" section for information about and access to data collections.

CDC Wonder
Wide-ranging OnLine Data for Epidemiologic Research (WONDER) -- is an easy-to-use internet system that makes the information resources of the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) available to public health professionals and the public at large. It provides access to a wide array of public health information.

Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS)
The Demographic and Health Surveys (DHS) program has collected, analyzed and disseminated accurate and representative data on population, health, HIV, and nutrition through more more that 200 surveys in over 75 countries.  You must register in order to download data. Statcompiler allows you to build customized tables from hundreds of DHS surveys and indicators. STATcompiler accesses nearly all of the population and health indicators that are published in DHS final reports.  You can view Country Quickstats and compare indicators between countries.

Healthdata.gov
A public resource designed to bring together high-value datasets, tools, and applications using data about health and health care to support your need for better knowledge and to help you to solve problems. These datasets and tools have been gathered from agencies across the Federal government with the goal of improving health for all Americans.

Health and Medical Care Archive (HMCA)
HMCA is sponsored by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation, the largest health care philanthropy organization in the United States. HMCA is the official data archive of the Foundation, and is devoted to preserving and making available research data that have significant secondary-analytic value for expanding knowledge on, and ultimately contributing to, improvement of the health of people in the United States.

Integrated Health Interview Series (IHIS)
A project of the Minnesota Population Center (MPC).  Harmonized data and documentation for the U.S. National Health Interview Survey (NHIS) from 1960 until the present.

National Center for Health Statistics (NCHS)
NCHS is the nation’s principal health statistics agency.  Here you can obtain access to current data from surveys such as the National Health Interview Survey (NHIS), the National Health and Nutrition Examination Survey (NHANES), birth and mortality detail files, National Immunization Survey, Longitudinal Study of Aging, and National Survey of Family Growth (NSFG).  Click on "Surveys & Data Collections" in the menu to view all.  NCHS also provides a variety of prepared statistical resources as well.

SEER Cancer Statistics
The National Cancer Institute, Surveillance Epidemiology and End Results (SEER) collects information on incidence, survival, and prevalence from specific geographic areas representing 26 percent of the US population and compiles reports on all of these plus cancer mortality for the entire US.

State Health Facts.org
A Kaiser Family Foundation Web site that provides statistics on more than 500 health topics for each state.

Sage Stats
Comprehensive data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. You'll find reliable, easy-to-use data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years.

World Health Organization Global Health Observatory (GHO)
GHO theme pages provide data and analyses on global health priorities. Each theme page provides information on global situation and trends highlights, using core indicators, database views, major publications and links to relevant web pages on the theme. The GHO database provides access to an interactive repository of health statistics. Users are able to display data for selected indicators, health topics, countries and regions, and download the customized tables in Excel format. The GHO country data includes all country statistics and health profiles that are available within WHO.

Local Educational Resources

The Maryland Report Card is a collection of data compiled on an annual basis to provide information on school performance to all education stakeholders; provide information to support school improvement efforts; and to provide accountability at the state, school system and school level or reporting educational progress.

Maryland School Performance Report
Aggregate data is available for download in ASCII format from 1993 - present (note there is a lag in availability for current year).

Education

The Center for Measuring University Performance
The Center's research is focused on the competitive national context for major research universities.  Published tables are available for University rankings including measure of faculty productivity, endowments, SAT scores and federal research funding dollars.

Education Data from the World Bank
The World Bank compiles data on education inputs, participation, efficiency, and outcomes. Data on education are compiled by the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Institute for Statistics from official responses to surveys and from reports provided by education authorities in each country.  Data can be downloaded in full as an Excel file.

National Center for Education Statistics (NCES)
NCES is the primary federal entity for collecting and analyzing data related to education.  Here you can access full datasets either via download, request data on CD-ROM , or manipulate data online from studies such as the Common Core of Data (CCD), National Education Longitudinal Study (NELS), Education Longitudinal Study (ELS), Early Childhood Longitudinal Study (ECLS), the National Household Education Survey (NHES) and many others.  Click on "Surveys & Programs" to view what projects are being undertaken and where data may be available.

NCES Tables &  Figures
The Tables & Figures section of the National Center for Education Statistics Website provides a way for you to search across all tables/figures/charts published in the inventory of NCES' National Education Data Resource Center (NEDRC) Postsecondary Tables Library, the Condition of Education, the Digest of Education Statistics, Indicators of School Crime and Safety and other NCES publications.

State Education Data Profiles
Also from NCES, here you may access statistics for each state.

Sage Stats
Comprehensive data coverage of each state including health care, crime, education and more. You'll find reliable, easy-to-use data from more than 80 different sources covering more than 15 years.

United Nations Educational, Scientific and and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) Data Centre
The Data Centre contains over 1,000 types of indicators and raw data on education, literacy, science and technology, culture and communication. Choose from pre-formatted statistics or develop your own custom table.