Search for Journal Articles, News, Conference Papers, and More
- Journal Articles and More
- Research Guides - All about Your Field
- Google Scholar and Google Books
- What's the News?
Use journal articles to get:
- a narrow or specific part of your topic
- up-to-date information
For specialized library databases, use Databases by Name, or Databases by Topic, on the library home page.
- In the "Databases by TOPIC" lists, start with the CORE databases, which are the broadest and most relevant. To see what the database covers, click the little round "i" button next to its name.
Most subject areas have a research guide. Here's the complete list.
- Research guides include all the information you'll need about a subject, including specialized information such as where to find statistics, or examples of worked problems and solutions.
- There are also guides to other topics, such as E-books, Finding Images, Baltimore, and Information for Undergraduates
- The librarian for each subject or topic is listed on the guide's home page!
On a Hopkins computer, Google Scholar automatically shows you the FIND IT links. But on a non-Hopkins device, you should either
- log in through the portal (my.jhu.edu), OR
- go to the library home page and use the "Google Scholar" tab so that you can see the links to our full text ("FIND IT")
If you don't see "FIND IT" next to the citation, click on "More," which is *below* the citation. It will turn into "FIND IT."
In your Google Scholar list of article results, you may also see books.
- If you click on the title, Google Scholar will, of course, take you to Google Books
- However, copyright law prevents them from showing you the whole book
- Search the library catalog for the book you want -- if we have it, you can see 100% of it
- Remember that if we do not have a book in any format, you can request it through Borrow Direct or Interlibrary Loan (on the library home page under "Request Materials")
In addition to news, news items can also provide the names of information sources about your topics.
- Here is the list of newspapers and other news sources
Citing Interviews and All Kinds of Other Things
This guide also includes help on citing things that are not articles or books, as well as information about citation managers such as RefWorks.
Publication Manual of the APA (American Psychological Association)
This is a blue book on C-level, on the first (tall) Science Reference shelf. There is also a copy on M-level in the Reference Office; just ask the librarian for it, and give them your name
- Page 179 - personal communications, including interviews, letters, e-mails, phone conversations, and more:
"Because they do not provide recoverable data, personal communications are not included in the reference list. Cite personal communications in text only. Give the initials...and surname of the communicator, and provide as exact a date as possible."
- Chapter 7, page 193 - everything else, including blog posts and comments, messages on message boards, videos, maps, musical recordings, software, and more. Just page through the list until you see what you want.
- Data Sets, Software, Measurement Instruments, and Apparatus, page 210. More about citing data sets from the APA blog (as of December 2013)
- Twitter, Facebook, Google+ -- On the APA style blog (as of October 2013)
- YouTube -- On the APA style blog (as of October 2011)
- More info from APA's style blog -- This is a list of most of the things mentioned above (although there is no date)
MLA (Modern Language Association) Handbook for Writers of Research Papers
M-level Reserves, and A Level General Reference, LB2369 .G53 2009
- Interviews, pages 201-202 -- "...[G]ive the name of the person interviewed, the kind of interview (Personal interview, Telephone interview), and the date." I'm assuming that, unlike APA, you *should* put these in your reference lists.
Pei, I.M. Personal interview. 22 July 1993.
- E-mails, pages 204-205
- Chapter 5, pages 123+, lists the other print and electronic things you may have to cite.
- Twitter and YouTube, from Purdue's excellent writing guide
- For MLA style for citing data or data sets, use this page in our Citing Guide