GIS and Maps

Information, materials, data and software for Johns Hopkins GIS and Map users.

Map Collections at Johns Hopkins

The largest collection of maps at Johns Hopkins is found in the GIS area of the Eisenhower Library building on A-level.  It is the most comprehensive collection of Baltimore City maps, atlases, and aerial photography found anywhere.  Included are thousands of printed map sheets and digital images.

All maps of Baltimore City, the State of Maryland and places within, are listed in the library’s computer catalog Catalyst.  Digital copies of maps, when not covered by copyright restrictions, are available for free downloading via our institutional repository  JScholarship.

Highlights of the collection include:

  • All Maryland historical county atlases (1876 – 1915)
  • Baltimore City atlases & maps series (1876 – 2008)
  • Topographic maps
  • Aerial photography  of Baltimore City (1920 – 1972)
  • Baltimore urban development plans
  • Special purpose maps of Baltimore including, zoning, transit, infrastructure, ward boundaries, neighborhoods, cartoon maps, roads, water distribution, and much more.

In addition to the main map collection in the Eisenhower Library building, small collections of maps are found at the George Peabody Library and at the John Work Garrett Library.  Maps in theses collections are also listed in the Catalyst online catalog. Digital images of their Maryland and Baltimore sheet maps are also included in JScholarship.

 

The Hackerman Map Collection

In Spring 2017 the family of alumnus Willard Hackerman presented to the Sheridan libraries his magnificent collection of Maryland and Baltimore maps.  Once housed in Mr. Heckerman’s private map gallery, this collection will soon be available to all Johns Hopkins researchers and the broader community.   Currently the Hackerman Map Collection is being prepared for a major exhibition at the George Peabody Library in 2018.  Maps are not yet available for public access as we complete conservation work, scanning, and cataloging.   For questions about the collection contact Jim Gillispie, GIS Librarian and Curator or Maps jeg@jhu.edu, 410-516-4816. 

Scanned Maps - including Maryland and Baltimore

JScholarship - Maps and Atlases
     The most comprehensive digital collection of Baltimore City maps anywhere.

Old Maps Online  http://www.oldmapsonline.org/

David Rumsey Map Collection http://www.davidrumsey.com/