Special Collections & Archives

Archives and Manuscripts and Rare Books

Search our collections

Overview

The Archives manages and provides access to university records and manuscript collections for the Johns Hopkins University Sheridan Libraries' Special Collections Research Center.  We also oversee the University's records management program. 

To inquire about our collections and services, please contact archives@lists.jhu.edu.  Please note that most archival and manuscript collections are housed offsite and can be retrieved on demand.  For retrieval of archives and manuscripts material, please contact us at least 48 hours before your visit.

University Archives

The Ferdinand Hamburger Archives is the official archival repository for the Homewood Campus divisions of The Johns Hopkins University: Central University Administration, Zanvyl Krieger School of Arts and Sciences, G.W.C. Whiting School of Engineering, Carey Business School, and the School of Education. It is also the repository for the Paul H. Nitze School of Advanced International Studies, based in Washington, DC.

The Johns Hopkins Medical Institutions maintain their own archival repository, as does the Peabody Institute. These repositories are located on their respective campuses. For more information, see Alan Mason Chesney Medical Archives and the Peabody Institute Archives.

If you represent an office that is interested in transferring university records to the Archives, please contact recordsmanagement@lists.jhu.edu or visit our records management site.

To browse a list of university records collections, click here.

Manuscript Collections

The Special Collections Research Center's manuscript collections primarily document six main areas of research: the history of science, literature, higher education, politics, planning & development in the Baltimore region, and Johns Hopkins University faculty. Most of our collections are personal archives of individuals who in some way have had a connection with the University, although we do have select records of organizations and businesses. 

To browse a list of manuscript collections, click here.

    Please Note

    Many of the links found in the column to the left are currently broken.  This site will be updated and refreshed in July 2017 and broken links should be restored at that time.  In the meantime, please email archives@lists.jhu.edu and we will be happy to send you any documents that are currently inaccessible.  We apologize for the inconvenience.