Biomedical Engineering and Design
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- Biomedical Engineering and Design
- Articles, Patents, News
Information specific to BME and BME/CBID design teams.
Compendex (Engineering) and More
Start with Compendex to find Engineering articles and more.
- It is the biggest database and covers all fields of engineering
- Scopus is a large and broad database that covers engineering, sciences, medicine, and some social science
- The lists of databases for Engineering and for Medicine, Nursing, and Other Health Fields
How to export Compendex citations to your citation manager:
1. In your search results, click the boxes next to those you want to export, and then click the "download" icon:
2. Choose where you would like to export to:
Information about Other Subjects:
1. Library home page --> Databases
2. Click "Browse list of databases"
3. Choose a subject to see the databases with information about it.
4. In each list, start with the databases under CORE -- they are the best and most relevant
- For a description about the database's topics, click "More Info" next to the database name:
- The patent literature can also supply information about companies. You can examine the patents assigned to a company and perhaps gain insight into its plans for research and/or product development. Our page about patents is this page of the Engineering guide.
News
- Look at newspapers
- Look on business databases, and try the three databases listed under CORE, for news about companies, products, and more
Some databases require passwords, or only allow a limited number of simultaneous users.
Some databases need a password.
- On the library home page, search the database name and click on it, or search databases by subject and click on the database you want
- If the database needs a password, you will be taken to a page that will tell you the password and other things you need to know:
Some databases have a limited number of users, so you should please logout when you are finished using them.
Here are some of them:
- AccessEmergencyMedicine -- 15 simultaneous users
- AccessMedicine -- 15 simultaneous users
- AccessSurgery -- 15 simultaneous users
- ahd.com (American Hospital Directory) -- 5 simultaneous users
- AMED (Allied and Complementary Medicine) -- only 1 user at a time
-
APIC Text of Infection Control and Epidemiology -- 5 simultaneous users
-
DIPPR 801 Chemical Database -- 5 simultaneous users
- Metabolic & molecular bases of inherited disease OMMBID -- 15 simultaneous users
- R2 Digital Library -- 2 users at a time per book
For more help, please text 410-692-8874, or send a note to ask@jhu.libanswers.com.