Featured Source
Local and Regional Government Information: How to Find It, How to Use It
Call Number: M-level, Gen Ref Z 1223.5 .A1 L63 2005
Includes a chapter on finding local information about education.
Related Guides
- Baltimore: Research Resources Highlights selected secondary and primary resources for those wishing to research topics related to Baltimore.
- News and Newspapers
- History Online Resources Includes the top online resources for the scholarly study of history.
- Policy Studies Online Resources Includes the top online resources for the study of public policy
Maryland Manual
- The Maryland Manual On-line: A Guide to Maryland Government Provides a list of Maryland's mandated reports on education.
Finding Materials in the Library Catalog
Use the catalog to search the library's holdings on education in Baltimore City. Try the pre-set searches below.
Baltimore City Sources
- Baltimore City Public Schools Includes: Current School Profiles – substantial profiles that include some comparative data over five years; History of the Baltimore Public School System; Current fiscal information
- Baltimore City Board of School Commissioners The Board’s responsibilities included administration of curricula, personnel, and buildings. The records of the Board are held at the Baltimore City Archives, located at 2165 Druid Park Drive, Baltimore, MD 21211. To make an appointment call 410-396-030
- Historical Baltimore City Board of School Commissioners Annual Reports and Minutes
The City Archives has the Board Minutes, 1836-1972, and Annual Reports, 1849-1981. Eisenhower has many of the Annual Reports, and the Enoch Pratt Free Library has volumes from 1829 – to the present (L 159 .B2 A23). - The Records of a City: A Guide to the Baltimore City Archives A complete description of the records of the Board of School Commissioners may be found in this work.
The Maryland State Department of Education
- Maryland State Department of Education Provides information and publications about the public and nonpublic schools in Maryland.
- Maryland State Board of Education
Information about the current Board of Education, including Minutes of the Board, some dated back to 2000. Included: budget allotments, resolutions with voting tallies, legislative updates, court opinions on issues involving the schools, personnel changes - List of Maryland State Department of Education Publications Links to some of the Department's most requested publications.
- Maryland Report Card Provides information by locality on the performance of public schools in Maryland, including student performance, attendance, graduation rates, and demographics. View the current Report Card online or use a data download option for years back to 1993.
- Maryland Public Schools Annual Reports Series of reports on Maryland elementary and secondary schools covering enrollment, staff, salaries, and finances by county, including Baltimore City since 1999. Some reports include nonpublic school data. Reports from 1982-are in GPML's SRI collection.
- Annual Report Showing the Condition of the Public Schools of Maryland 1860s - present. A report delivered to the Governor with statistics for schools in Maryland counties and Baltimore City. Includes financial statements, enrollments for public and private schools, cost per pupil, and more. Available from 1871-1987 L158 .B2
- Nonpublic Schools Information about nonpublic schools, such as a list of approved schools and legal requirements, published by the Maryland State Department of Education.
- Association of Independent Maryland Schools AIMS is a voluntary organization of private, independent elementary and college preparatory schools in Maryland and the District of Columbia.
Librarian |
Elizabeth UzelacWhen leaving a message when I'm offline, please include your email address.
Contact Info:
Office: M-Level, MSE Library, Homewood Campus
Phone: (410) 516-0330
Email: euzelac@jhu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Counseling and Human Services
Twitter
@mselibrary
Office: M-Level, MSE Library, Homewood Campus
Phone: (410) 516-0330
Email: euzelac@jhu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Education, Counseling and Human Services
@mselibrary
Other Sources
- The New Pedagogue; A monthly journal devoted to the public school interests of Baltimore Eisenhower holdings include issues from 1897 through 1901.
- Facts about the Baltimore public schools A collection of pamphlets that deal with the courses of study in the Baltimore public school system from 1934-1937.
- School Yearbooks A list of Maryland school yearbooks held by the Maryland Room at the Enoch Pratt Free Library.
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait