AtlasesBiographical SourcesHandbooks and E-ReferenceReviews and Current Literature
Off-campus access 
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Anthropology 

A guide to resources and research in anthrolopogy
Last update: Sep 08th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/anthropology  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Atlases             Print Page
  

Atlases

The following is a list of atlaese based on a variety of themes and time periods.

  • Atlas of Classical Archaeology  
    Divided by geographical region and includes descriptions of the major cities of antiquity. The appendices comprise a chronological table, a list of Roman emperors, a glossary, an illustration of Greek vase types, and Greek architectural types.
  • Atlas of Early Man  
    Dated, but it has not been replaced by a more recent publication. Covers sites of evidence of early humanity, including North America. Maps show the locations of the sites and give a short description of cultural affiliations.
  • Archaeological Atlas of the World  
    Maps archaeological sites, but no site is discussed extensively. Mainly useful as a tool for finding the specific location of many sites. Contains a few further readings and an index.
  • Atlas of Ancient America  
    Divided by region. Includes chronological table, bibliography by region, gazetteer and index.
  • Atlas of the North American Indian  
    Organized by subject. The articles are accompanied by numerous illustrations and maps. Includes lists of tribes, reservations, place names, museums and archaeological sites. Contains a bibliography and an index.
  • World Atlas of Archaeology  
    Contains color pictures and excellent maps. Articles are long, general and descriptive. Glossary useful for ready reference. Arranged by regions of the world, subdivided by subjects. Covers early humans through historical times.
 

Librarian

Profile ImageYuan Yuan Zeng
Contact Info:
Tel: 410-516-8930
Email: yzeng@jhu.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Anthropology, Political Science, East Asian Studies, Africana Studies, Latin American Studies

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait