Off-Campus Access 
DissertationsResearch Papers
AdvertisingIndustry Overviews & ReportsIndustry StatisticsProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatiosSIC/NAICS Codes (Industrial Classification Codes)
Annual Reports, Company FilingsCorporate HierarchyDirectories & ProfilesInternational CompaniesMergers & AcquisitionsNonprofitsPrivately Held CompaniesProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatios
AdvertisingFunding SourcesInternational MarketingNonprofits
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Business 

This guide is intended to assist JHU faculty and students in locating key business information resources that are available through the Sheridan Libraries for their academic research.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

SIC/NAICS Codes (Industrial Classification Codes)             Print Page
  
 

Identifying Codes

The North American Industry Classification System (NAICS) is the hierarchical, numerical system used by the Federal government to classify businesses in order to collect, analyze, and publish statistical data related to the U.S. business economy.  While it replaces the Standard Industrial Classification (SIC) System, some resources still use the old SIC codes.

Use the official NAICS site to identify the NAICS and/or SIC codes for your topic. 

Note:

  • Separate codes exist for manufacturers, retailers, and wholesalers.
  • Some resources may include only a company's assigned "primary" industry code.  Primary codes apply to the company's main line of business. "Secondary" codes may appear if a company has multiple lines of business.
 

NAICS & SIC Indexes

Official NAICS website
Print: GEN REF HF 1042.N6 2002

NAICS Association

SIC Manual
Print: GEN REF HF 1042.S731 1986

 

NAPCS

The North American Product Classification System (NAPCS) was created to gather data on products (goods and services) produced by service industries.

 
 

Searching by Industry or Industry Codes

These resources either contain SIC or NAICS indexes or else organize content or permit searching by industry codes or categories.

Resources vary in the specificity of industry categories and sub-categories. Some include only the broader classification.

To determine the industry code assigned to a company, start with a company directory. For industry ratios, consult the ratio guide.

Selected Print Resources:

Ward's Business Directory
General Reference HG 4057.A1W35

Standard & Poor Register of Corporations
General Reference HG 4057.A1S8

Hoover's Handbook of World Business
General Reference HG 4009.H66

Hoover's Master List of Major U.S. Companies
General Reference HG 5035.H66

Market Share Reporter
General Reference HF 5410.M35

Business Rankings Annual
General Reference HG 4050.B88

Manufacturing & Distribution USA
General Reference HD 9721.M364

Service Industries USA
General Reference HD 9981.3.S47

Thomas Register of Manufacturers
General Reference T 12.T6

Electronic Directories:

ReferenceUSA: an online phonebook
Use Guided Search to search by geographic criteria and industry codes or yellow page heading. This is the most comprehensive business directory of U.S. public, private, and nonprofit organizations.

Dun & Bradstreet Million Dollar Database
Basic information on over 1,260,000 U.S. leading public and private businesses with at least $1 million in sales, 20 full-time employees, or 50 employees at a branch.  Geographic criteria and zip code ranges may be specified. 

Mergent Online
Retrieve a list of public companies by primary and/or secondary industry codes through the Advanced Search screen. Primary codes represent the main line of business; secondary codes capture more companies that serve a particular industry.

Hoover's Academic
Public and private business directory of U.S. businesses.

Manufacturing & Distribution USA 4th Edition (2006)
Industry statistics include regional information and lists of leading companies

ThomasNet
Online version of Thomas Register of Manufacturers

 

 

 

Business Librarian

Profile ImageHeather Tapager
Contact Info:
Research Services Dept., M-Level Office #7
Sheridan Libraries
Johns Hopkins University
3400 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, Maryland 21218

410-516-8778 (phone)
410-516-8399 (fax)
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Management, Marketing, Real Estate, Human Resources, Organizational Development, Finance, Accounting, Information Technology, Entrepreneurship, Advertising, Career Planning, Nonprofit Management, Company, Industry

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait