Off-Campus Access 
DissertationsResearch Papers
AdvertisingIndustry Overviews & ReportsIndustry StatisticsProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatiosSIC/NAICS Codes (Industrial Classification Codes)
Annual Reports, Company FilingsCorporate HierarchyDirectories & ProfilesInternational CompaniesMergers & AcquisitionsNonprofitsPrivately Held CompaniesProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatios
AdvertisingFunding SourcesInternational MarketingNonprofits
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Business 

This guide is intended to assist JHU faculty and students in locating key business information resources that are available through the Sheridan Libraries for their academic research.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Industry Statistics             Print Page
  
 

Need More?

Index of Statistical Resources
A handy list of credible statistical resources for various subject areas

Also view the Industry Overviews portion of this guide.

 

Country Yearbooks

Statistical yearbooks or abstracts, released annually by foreign countries, contain official statistics. The library contains a set of these publications in microfiche format in Government Publications.

Selected yearbooks or abstracts for particular countries also are available as print reference materials. Use the JHU Catalog to identify publications and locations.

 

Trade Associations

These tools identify associations, conferences, websites, and key resources for a topic or industry, which may lead you to statistics.

Encyclopedia of Business Information Sources
General Reference HF 5353.E9

Directory of Business Information Resources
General Reference HF 54.52.U5 D567

Encyclopedia of Associations
Directory of region-specific, national, and international associations

 

Need other sources? Try a basic web search on your industry or market, combined with statistics.

 
 

Key Print Sources & Websites

These selected resources either contain industry statistics or lead you to resources that provide them.

Check the JHU Library Catalog for locations of back issues or additional copies.

Business Rankings Annual
General Reference HG 4050.B88 (also at Montgomery campus)

Business Statistics of the United States
Government Publications HC 101.A13122
Concise tables of recent and historical business and economic data.

County Business Patterns
Government Publications C 3.204/
Online version
Provides county, state, and national level business data from 1977 to the most recent year available. Statistics include number of establishments, payroll (annual and 1st quarter), number of employees, and number of establishments by size class for 2 digit SIC industry groupings. The Bureau of the Census collects this data annually.  This resource is published by University of Virginia Library's Geospatial & Statistical Data Center.

Census Bureau Economic Programs

European Marketing Data and Statistics
General Reference HA 1107.E87

International Marketing Data and Statistics
General Reference HA 42.I56

Manufacturing & Distribution USA
General Reference HD 9721.M364

Market Share Reporter
General Reference HF 5410.M35 (also at Montgomery campus)

Service Industries USA
General Reference HD 9981.3.S47

Standard and Poor's Statistical Service
Basic Statistics: General Reference HC 101.S73
Current Statistics: General Reference HG 4905.S46

Statistical Abstract of the United States
General Reference HA 202 (Consult the JHU Catalog for other locations)
Online version is a good start but not as comprehensive as the print format.
Basic source to use for a wide variety of demographic, business, economic, and industrial statistics from the Census Bureau, other Federal agencies, and private organizations. Includes selected international data. Use the Index to find topics and  corresponding table numbers. Our library owns the Statistical Abstract in print from the first edition 1878-present. Image files of Historical Statistical Abstract are now also online. 

Statistical Abstract of the World
General Reference HA 154.S68

Survey of Current Business
Government Publications HC 101.S8
Online version
The monthly Survey of Current Business is BEA’s definitive source of information about its economic accounts. Articles present the latest national, international, regional, and industry estimates; describe the methodologies used to prepare the estimates; provide information about major revisions; discuss on-going innovations; and generally keep users up to date on relevant BEA issues and initiatives. Each issue includes numerous tables and charts of various economic estimates, as well as a message from BEA’s director. Published by the Bureau of Economic Analysis.

 

Statistical Databases

In addition, consult the business article databases for articles that contain statistics on an industry, market, or product.

Bloomberg Financial Service
Real-time industry, financial, and economic data. Password-based access for JHU faculty and students is available from the designated terminals at three JHU libraries.

Economist Intelligence Unit
This suite of statistical services and reports from the Economist Intelligence Unit includes industry-specific and economic news and data.

Lexis-Nexis Statistical
An index to statistical publications of the U.S. government, international organizations, state governments, and many non-governmental organizations.  Search in tables or abstracts of publications for demographic or industry-specific data. Present the document number (e.g. SRI) to Government Publications staff to view the full document within the library.

Global Insight
These economic and financial data sets are also available through the Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS).  Please read the Getting Started with WRDS guide before accessing the Wharton Research Data Service. WRDS is only available to JHU faculty and graduate students who have approved WRDS accounts for their academic research.

 

Business Librarian

Profile ImageHeather Tapager
Contact Info:
Research Services Dept., M-Level Office #7
Sheridan Libraries
Johns Hopkins University
3400 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, Maryland 21218

410-516-8778 (phone)
410-516-8399 (fax)
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Management, Marketing, Real Estate, Human Resources, Organizational Development, Finance, Accounting, Information Technology, Entrepreneurship, Advertising, Career Planning, Nonprofit Management, Company, Industry

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait