Off-Campus Access 
DissertationsResearch Papers
AdvertisingIndustry Overviews & ReportsIndustry StatisticsProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatiosSIC/NAICS Codes (Industrial Classification Codes)
Annual Reports, Company FilingsCorporate HierarchyDirectories & ProfilesInternational CompaniesMergers & AcquisitionsNonprofitsPrivately Held CompaniesProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatios
AdvertisingFunding SourcesInternational MarketingNonprofits
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Business 

This guide is intended to assist JHU faculty and students in locating key business information resources that are available through the Sheridan Libraries for their academic research.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Products, Brands, Marketing and Advertising Campaigns             Print Page
  
 

Reference Materials

Encyclopedia of Major Marketing Campaigns
General Reference HF 5837. E53 2000 Quarto
Online 2007 edition

Brands and their Companies
General Reference T 223 .V4 A23

Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
General Reference HF 5803 .A38 2003

Market Share Reporter
General Reference HF 5410 .M35

Business Rankings Annual
General Reference HG 4050 .B88

Thomas Register of Manufacturers
General Reference T 12 .T6
Online version

 

Videos/DVDs

Use the search tools through the Video tab to identify other media about advertising and marketing, or particular companies.

View non-circulating media within a JHU library A-V carrel or viewing room, or in class.

Popular videos:

CLIO Awards

 

More JHU Materials

Use the Advanced search in the JHU Libraries Catalog, or through the Home tab above, to find materials about marketing, brands, companies, or products.

Combine broad terms (e.g. marketing) with other keywords (e.g. success*, best, worst, mistakes, or failures) to get examples of successful or unsuccessful campaigns or initiatives.

 

Related Guides

 
 

Articles and News

Search the news and core article databases, via the tabs above, for information on products, markets, manufacturers, and campaigns.

Each article index includes different scholarly journals (e.g. Journal of Product Innovation Management), trade journals (e.g. Progressive Grocer), and popular business magazines.

Two additional, valuable databases:

Lexis-Nexis Academic
Full-text news and newswires

Lexis-Nexis Statistical

  1. Search in the Abstracts section to identify publications that discuss your product or category. 
  2. Use the article tab above to see if that publication is available in another electronic resource or in print. 
  3. If not, present the document number (e.g. SRI) to Government Publications staff to view the full article on film or in print.
 

Specialized Databases

These databases may provide information on specific products, or categories of products, within an industry. Reports in MarketResearch.com Academic and Mintel Oxygen include some brand-level information.

Business Insights
Issue-driven market reports.

Market Research.com Academic
Current and archived market research reports, by ICON, Kalorama and Packaged Facts, are provided by Market Research.com for consumer goods, health care, biotechnology, pharmaceuticals and other industries. Includes reports on demographic groups.

Mintel Oxygen
U.S. and international reports on consumer goods and services. Includes data on brands, products, and consumers. Users must set up their Mintel profile from a JHU computer, using their JHU e-mail address, before accessing remotely.

Marketline Business Information Center
National, global, and country-specific reports at a more specific industrial level. Includes reports from Datamonitor.

Product Launch Analytics (formerly ProductScan)
This online service from Datamonitor, formed in 1980, provides current information on domestic and international consumer products as they are launched, as well as over twenty years of historical data. Data include: brand or product; manufacturer; innovation; country; product category; flavor or fragrance; health or product claim; price; packaging type; ingredients; shelving type; industry; and upc code.

Gartner Advisory Intraweb
Analysis on the products and vendors in the technology and communications industry. Use Advanced search to search within subscribed content. Users must access Gartner via the JHU Portal regardless of their location.

 

Web Sites

How Products Are Made
A resource which includes the inventor, manufacturing and assembly processes, the raw materials and more for particular types of products.

Value of Product Shipments
Part of the U.S. Census Bureau's Annual Survey of Manufactures.  This report presents shipments data for the 473 six-digit NAICS product groups and approximately 1,500 seven-digit NAICS product classes.  Data for the individual products are collected every 5 years in the economic census. 

North American Product Classification System (NACPS)
In February 1999, the statistical agencies of Canada, Mexico, and the United States launched a joint multi-phase initiative to develop a comprehensive demand-oriented product classification, known as the North American Product Classification System (NAPCS).

ThomasNet (Thomas Register of Manufacturers)
Useful for matching a brand with a company or determining what company manufactures a certain product. Search by product or service, brand, or company.

 
 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait