Off-Campus Access 
DissertationsResearch Papers
AdvertisingIndustry Overviews & ReportsIndustry StatisticsProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatiosSIC/NAICS Codes (Industrial Classification Codes)
Annual Reports, Company FilingsCorporate HierarchyDirectories & ProfilesInternational CompaniesMergers & AcquisitionsNonprofitsPrivately Held CompaniesProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatios
AdvertisingFunding SourcesInternational MarketingNonprofits
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Business 

This guide is intended to assist JHU faculty and students in locating key business information resources that are available through the Sheridan Libraries for their academic research.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Nonprofits             Print Page
  

Web sites

  • BoardSource  
    formerly The National Center for Non-Profit Boards
  • The Foundation Center  
    Online directory, funding sources, resources that assist nonprofits, and research/trends on nonprofits
  • GuideStar  
    Register for a free account to selected content in this online directory of over a million organizations. Provides annual reports, 990 forms and more.
  • Idealist  
    National and international directory, job listings, networking, and more
  • The NonProfit Times  
    This key publication for nonprofit management includes salary surveys, rankings, and current news and topics.
 

Dictionaries

A Dictionary of Nonprofit Terms and Concepts
Government Publications Reference HD2769.15.S63 2006

 

Articles

Refer to the databases under the Articles and News tabs to search for information by topic.

 

Specific Journals

Use the E-journal search tool on the Articles guide to identify access options to specific nonprofit journals.

Nonprofit periodicals listed in the JHU Libraries Catalog


Related Periodicals:

Chronicle of Higher Education
Online subscription includes job listings, statistics, salaries, and news related to academic institutions

Corporate Philanthropy Report
Current Periodicals, M-Level, HG 4028.C6 C675 (back issues in main collection)

 
 

Directories

Print Directories:

Foundation Directory
General Reference AS 911.A2F68

The Foundation grants index. A cumulative listing of foundation grants.
General Reference AS911.A2F69

Encyclopedia of Associations
latest ed. in General Reference HD2425.E611; Check JHU catalog for location of back issues.
Online version

Baltimore/Annapolis: A Comprehensive Directory of the Area's Major Institutions and the People Who Lead Them
General Reference F179.5.B34

National directory of nonprofit organizations --at JHU WELCH LIBRARY; Check JHU catalog for location.
v.1 Annual revenues of $100,000 or more (2 pts.). -v.2. Annual revenues of $25,000 to $99,999 ; indexes.

Electronic Directories:

ReferenceUSA
Online directory of U.S. public, private, and nonprofit organizations.

Encyclopedia of Associations (Gale Ready Reference Shelf)
Online version of the Encyclopedia of Associations includes region-specific, national, and international coverage.

 

Financials, Annual Reports

How to Obtain Financial Reports and 990 Forms:

  1. Contact an organization or explore its web site for recent annual reports, 990 forms, or other financial documents.

  2. If unavailable, try free, limited access to GuideStar for selected reports and 990 forms in the organizational profiles.

  3. A nonprofit's 990 form, submitted to the IRS, is available by law from the organization. If the organization does not provide it, the FAQ page on the IRS website below explains how to obtain it.

    IRS FAQs regarding exempt organizations

Related Materials:

Blazek, Jody. 990 handbook : a line-by-line approach. New York : Wiley, 2001.
Eisenhower Stacks HJ 4640.B55

Submitting 990 Forms:

IRS Tax Information for Charities & Nonprofits

Aggregated Statistics:

IRS Charitable Statistics

 

Books

Search the JHU Libraries Catalog for books and other publications owned by the Johns Hopkins University that pertain to nonprofit organizations.

Additional information exists in the Government Publications, Maps and Law wing, on A-Level.

Recommended Searches:

Alphabetical Subject search for nonprofit organizations. Scroll through the headings or add two dashes followed by a subject to refine. (e.g. nonprofit organizations--management)

Alphabetical Subject search for charities.

Advanced Keyword Series Title search for nonprofit retrieves books in publishers' series on nonprofit organizations.

Advanced Keyword General search for multiple terms searches all parts of a record for those words. (e.g. nonprofit handbooks)

Alphabetical Subject searches for:

fund raising

endowments

proposal writing for grants

proposal writing in business

business writing

corporations--charitable contributions

Advanced Keyword General search for corporate philanthropy

 

Business Librarian

Profile ImageHeather Tapager
Contact Info:
Research Services Dept., M-Level Office #7
Sheridan Libraries
Johns Hopkins University
3400 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, Maryland 21218

410-516-8778 (phone)
410-516-8399 (fax)
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Management, Marketing, Real Estate, Human Resources, Organizational Development, Finance, Accounting, Information Technology, Entrepreneurship, Advertising, Career Planning, Nonprofit Management, Company, Industry

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait