Off-Campus Access 
DissertationsResearch Papers
AdvertisingIndustry Overviews & ReportsIndustry StatisticsProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatiosSIC/NAICS Codes (Industrial Classification Codes)
Annual Reports, Company FilingsCorporate HierarchyDirectories & ProfilesInternational CompaniesMergers & AcquisitionsNonprofitsPrivately Held CompaniesProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatios
AdvertisingFunding SourcesInternational MarketingNonprofits
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Business 

This guide is intended to assist JHU faculty and students in locating key business information resources that are available through the Sheridan Libraries for their academic research.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Advertising             Print Page
  
 

Directories

Red Books
Advertiser and advertising agency profiles, advertising and media expenditures, brand data, and more

 

Encyclopedias

Concise Encyclopedia of Advertising
General Reference HF5803.C59 2005

The Advertising Age Encyclopedia of Advertising
General Reference HF5803.A38 2003 QUARTO

 

Videos/DVDs

Use the search tools through the Video tab to identify other media about advertising and marketing, or particular companies.

View non-circulating media within a JHU library A-V carrel or viewing room, or in class.

Popular videos:

CLIO Awards

 

Articles

Search in the news and core article databases through the tabs above for recent or specific information.

Other Related Indexes:

Academic Search Premier

Communication & Mass Media Complete

Communication Studies: A SAGE full-text collection

Omnifile Full-Text Mega (WilsonWeb)

 

Related Guides

Case Studies

Books

Products, Marketing & Advertising Campaigns

Industry Overviews
View these databases for reports on the advertising industry or your market

Annual Reports

 
 

Ad Rates & Sources for Placing Ads

Gale Directory of Publications and Broadcast Media
General Reference Z 6951 .A97
Online version in Gale Ready Reference Shelf

Directory of television stations, radio stations, cable television companies, directories, newsletters, newspapers, and periodicals. Ad rates by organization may or may not be available for each entry. View the User's Guide and the Table of Contents at the beginning of the appropriate volume.

Willings Press Guide (v.1 UK v.2 Western Europe v.3 World)
General Reference Z 2001 .W73

See gray tabs for different categories and indexes. Advertising rates exist for newpapers and periodicals but may vary by country and organization.  Separate section exists for broadcasting stations.

SRDS
View "My Services" for subscribed databases which list national and international advertising and media sources from the Standard Rate Data Service (SRDS) by location and subject category. Entries include demographic data, facts about publications, circulation statistics, and advertising rates.

 

Advertising Expenditures

Aggregate-Level Expenditures:

International Marketing Data and Statistics
General Reference HA 42 .I56
Look for the section on "advertising" for expenditures by media type and country.

EIU Market Indicators and Forecasts
Aggregated-level expenditures by geographic location and media type, from the Economist Intelligence Unit.

Company-Specific Expenditures:

Note: Advertising expenditures, which supplement the income statement, may be available at the discretion of the company. Advertising expenditures for industries that rely heavily on television advertising (e.g. food or beverage) are better represented.

Try a company's annual report or the business article indexes for information on advertising expenditures or costs of campaigns.

Red books
Advertising expenditures by company; further breakdown by media type will vary by company.

Compustat (available to JHU faculty and graduate students who have WRDS accounts, for academic research only)

Standard and Poor's Compustat, through the Wharton Research Data Service, contains historical data from company annual reports.

 

Rankings & Statistics

International Television & Video Almanac
General Reference HE 8698 .I55

Broadcasting & Cable Yearbook
General Reference HE 8689 .B77 (latest edition in Gen Ref, back issues are in main collection)

Statistical Abstract of the United States
General Reference HA 202
Freely Available Online Version
Look up Advertising, and also Media, in the Index for relevant table numbers.

World Almanac and Book of Facts
General Reference AY 67 .N5 W82 (current ed.)
Contains Advertising Age's ranked list of 100 leading U.S. advertisers and also U.S. ad spending by category and advertising medium.

Advertising Age 
Search for additional information from Advertising Age through the core article index databases. The library also has Advertising Age in print (M-level Current Periodicals Room) and historically on microfiche.

 

Web Sites & Digital Collections

Ad*Access
Digital access to one of Duke University's advertising collections. Images and information include over 7,000 advertisements from U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Subjects include: radio, television, transportation, beauty and hygiene, and World War II.

Adweek's Creative Index
Creative advertising resources and best spots from Adweek (some free information; fee-based features are unavailable to the university)

Luerzer's Archive
Archive of international print and video ads

UTexas Advertising World
This web portal of the Department of Advertising at the University of Texas at Austin provides a wealth of information on a wide range of topics in advertising and marketing.

 

Business Librarian

Profile ImageHeather Tapager
Contact Info:
Research Services Dept., M-Level Office #7
Sheridan Libraries
Johns Hopkins University
3400 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, Maryland 21218

410-516-8778 (phone)
410-516-8399 (fax)
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Management, Marketing, Real Estate, Human Resources, Organizational Development, Finance, Accounting, Information Technology, Entrepreneurship, Advertising, Career Planning, Nonprofit Management, Company, Industry

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait