Off-Campus Access 
DissertationsResearch Papers
AdvertisingIndustry Overviews & ReportsIndustry StatisticsProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatiosSIC/NAICS Codes (Industrial Classification Codes)
Annual Reports, Company FilingsCorporate HierarchyDirectories & ProfilesInternational CompaniesMergers & AcquisitionsNonprofitsPrivately Held CompaniesProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatios
AdvertisingFunding SourcesInternational MarketingNonprofits
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Business 

This guide is intended to assist JHU faculty and students in locating key business information resources that are available through the Sheridan Libraries for their academic research.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

International Companies             Print Page
  
 

Research Guides

Pagell, Ruth A. and Michael Halperin. International Business Information: How to Find It, How to Use It 2nd ed.
Chicago : Glenlake Publishing Co., Ltd. ; New York : AMACOM, 1999.
HF54.5.P33 1998 QUARTO (Check the JHU Catalog for copies and locations)

Lanza, Sheri R. International Business Information on the Web: Searcher magazine's guide to sites and strategies for global business research. Medford, N.J. : CyberAge Books, 2001.
General Reference HF 54.56 .L364 2001

 

Articles, News

Search the core article and news databases for recent or specific information, using the tabs above.

Other Article Databases:

Business & Industry Africa

Proquest Asian Business and Reference

 

Other Databases

Marketline Business Information Center
News and in-depth company, country, and industry profiles by Datamonitor.  Includes a SWOT analysis.

MarketResearch.com Academic
Industry reports include information on key companies.

Mintel Oxygen
U.S., U.K. and European reports on consumer goods and services include key companies and data on brands, products, and consumers. Users must set up their Mintel profile from a JHU computer, using their JHU e-mail address, before accessing remotely.

Business Insights
Issue-driven market research reports refer to key companies

 

Patents

European Patent Office
Free international patents (abstracts, documents, selected applications)

 
 

Directories: Basic Facts

D & B Principal International Businesses (Dun & Bradstreet)
General Reference HF54.U5 P74

Hoover's Handbook of World Business
General Reference HG 4009.H66

Volume 6 of the Directory of Corporate Affiliations is "International Public and Private Companies"
General Reference HG4057.A217
Online version

International Directory of Company Histories
General Reference HD 2712 .I57

Directory of American Firms Operating in Foreign Countries
General Reference HG 4538 .A1 D5

Directory of Foreign Firms Operating in the United States
General Reference HG 4057 .A21943

Standard and Poor's Register of Corporations, Directors and Executives
General Reference HG 4057 .A1 S8
Online version

Encyclopedia of Associations: International Organizations
General Reference HD 2425.E611 (Check the JHU Catalog for location of historical eds.)
Online version in Gale Ready Reference Shelf

 

Financials

Company Filings:

Businesses within other countries may or may not be required to file or publish financial reports within a specific country. Some countries are better than others at collecting information. The most recently available information could vary by business or country.

SEC filings of Foreign Companies:

All U.S. and foreign companies are required to submit filings to the SEC.

Canada:

SEDAR
Canada's site for public company filings, which began in January 1997.

Company Profiles With Financials:

Mergent Online
Recent and historical financials, ratios, Edgar/SEC filings, annual reports, news, industry reports, and customized reports for U.S. public and large international companies.

Worldscope
Information on international companies is derived from corporate annual and 10K reports, disclosure statements, newspapers, and wire services. Records include a description of each business or company, selected financial information, key ratios, officers, and more.

Lexis-Nexis Academic
The Business tab will raise different, company-specific information than the company limit in the General Search. Try a search in both.

Bloomberg Financial Service
Password-based access from designated terminals only at the Homewood, Downtown Baltimore, or D.C. libraries; available only to current JHU faculty, staff, and students. Includes real-time news and security-specific or broad market data.

Hoover's Academic
public and private company profiles

Standard & Poor's Netadvantage
Search on a company. Click on the links on the left of the profile for additional information and in-depth analysis.

Compustat
Access is available to current JHU faculty, staff, and graduate students who have been approved for a Wharton Research Data Service (WRDS) account. Includes historical, financial data based on annual reports.

Directory of Corporate Affiliations
Who owns whom

 

Business Librarian

Profile ImageHeather Tapager
Contact Info:
Research Services Dept., M-Level Office #7
Sheridan Libraries
Johns Hopkins University
3400 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, Maryland 21218

410-516-8778 (phone)
410-516-8399 (fax)
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Management, Marketing, Real Estate, Human Resources, Organizational Development, Finance, Accounting, Information Technology, Entrepreneurship, Advertising, Career Planning, Nonprofit Management, Company, Industry

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait