Off-Campus Access 
DissertationsResearch Papers
AdvertisingIndustry Overviews & ReportsIndustry StatisticsProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatiosSIC/NAICS Codes (Industrial Classification Codes)
Annual Reports, Company FilingsCorporate HierarchyDirectories & ProfilesInternational CompaniesMergers & AcquisitionsNonprofitsPrivately Held CompaniesProducts, Brands, Marketing and Advertising CampaignsRatios
AdvertisingFunding SourcesInternational MarketingNonprofits
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Business 

This guide is intended to assist JHU faculty and students in locating key business information resources that are available through the Sheridan Libraries for their academic research.
Last update: Oct 23rd, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/business  Print Guide  RSS Updates

International Marketing             Print Page
  
 

Industry Reports

View this guide to find industry reports on your market sector within a country or geographic region. Consider broader or related categories. Global or regional reports may provide details by country.

 

Article Databases

Article and news databases provide more targeted and recent information on countries, companies, industries, products, marketing or ad campaigns, market share, trends, regulations, and developments.

Use the Articles and News tabs, or Online Resources, to search in the core article and news databases for business.

Additional Resources in that List:

  • Academic Search Complete
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic
  • EconLit
  • PAIS International
  • Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO)
  • Proquest Asian Business and Reference

 

 

Advertising/Media Costs

View the section for this topic on the Advertising guide.

Risk Services

The following resources help assess risk in doing business with or in a country.

  • Economist Intelligence Unit  
    Use Country Risk Service and Risk Briefings for political and economic risk
  • Political Risk Yearbook  
    General Reference JQ 21.A1 P642 or
    General Reference JN 94.A1 P642, depending on region
    Also covers economic stability
 

International Companies

See this related guide on resources for international companies.

 

Books

Click on the Books tab above to find resources on international marketing, or your country or market.

Some searches:

  • Alphabetical Title (browse) on international market
  • Alphabetical Subjects--Library of Congress on
Export marketing
International business enterprises -- marketing
Marketing -- (specific country, region, or continent)
Marketing research -- (subcategories followed by region, country, or continent)
  • Advanced Keyword Title or Subject on
international marketing
international market
International business
global market
foreign trade
globalization

 

 

Country Overviews or Profiles

Use profiles from multiple resources to get a comprehensive overview of a country, including demographics, history, economy, politics, government structure, infrastructure, and more.  Start with Economist Intelligence Unit!

  • Economist Intelligence Unit  
    Start with Country Profiles (annual), Reports (updates), and Forecasts. Other services include World Investment Service; Viewswire (news); Industry Briefing; Country Risk Service; Country Commerce; Country Finance; Country Monitor; Business Briefings; Economist.com; Risk Briefing; CountryData; Market Indicators and Forecasts; CityData
  • Encyclopaedia Britannica Online  
    Since the Encyclopædia Britannica's founding in 1768, Britannica editors have gathered and organized information on thousands of topics.
  • Marketline Business Information Center  
    Country, industry, and company reports by Datamonitor. 50+ country profiles offer macroeconomic and industry data, trends and analysis.
  • World Almanac and Book of Facts  
    Type your country; choose Title from the drop down menu. Includes content of five publications by the World Almanac Education Group, Inc.: Funk & Wagnall.
  • SRDS  
    View the "My Services" list within for access to national and international advertising and media sources from the Standard Rate Data Service. The International sources contain links to Country profiles.
  • CIA World Factbook  
    The free resource from the CIA provides information on the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.
  • Encyclopedia of Food and Culture  
    Eisenhower General Reference GT2850.E53 2003 QUARTO
    Covers food and food habits; 3 vol. set alphabetically organized by topic--Try your food item before searching by broader category, cultural group, or country.
 

Data and Statistics (Print Resources)

The Government librarians, on A-level, can assist you in obtaining statistics, economic indicators, demographic data and other information released by the U.S. government or the country.

Official Publications of Foreign Countries will identify credible sources that the country provides.

Yearbooks, statistical abstracts, and compendia released by a country may be available in print or on microfilm.  Consult with the government librarians to locate. Latest editions for selected countries are in the General Reference collection on M-level (HA call number range).  

Statistical Abstract of the United States
General Reference HA 202

Business Rankings Annual
(company and industry rankings)
General Reference HG 4050.B88

Market Share Reporter
(company and industry rankings)
General Reference HF 5410.M35

European Marketing Data and Statistics
General Reference HA 1107.E87

International Marketing Data and Statistics
General Reference HA 42.I56

Statistics sources: a subject guide to data on industrial, business, social, educational, financial, and other topics for the United States and internationally
General Reference HA 18.S8

World Development Indicators
Government Publications I-IBRD 29 (also at SAIS library)

Data and Statistics (Electronic Resources)

These resources are accessible via your JHED login ID and password.

  • Economist Intelligence Unit  
    Start with City Data, Country Data, and Market Indicators and Forecasts.
  • Stat USA  
    Click on GLOBUS & NTDB for the international trade library, exchange rates, and country and market reports.
  • Global Insight  
    Current and historical data series contain economic, industrial, financial, and demographic information for countries and regions.
  • SourceOECD  
    SourceOECD is the online library of the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development, comprising all OECD monographs and reports; periodicals; and the OECD statistical databases, including those of the International Energy Agency. Subjects covered include agriculture, banking, economics, education, energy, foreign investment, health, labor, migration, science and technology, telecommunications, trade, and more.
  • World Bank E-Library  
    Full-text publications by the World Bank
  • World Development Indicators Online  
    From the World Bank and its partners, WDI is the statistical benchmark that helps measure the progress of development. The print format also is available and includes more than 800 indicators in over 90 tables organized in 6 sections: World View, People, Environment, Economy, States and Markets, and Global Links.
  • Lexis-Nexis Statistical  
    Search abstracts or table for statistics from government or business publications, particularly industry-specific resources. Present document number (e.g. SRI #) to GPML staff to obtain full document. U.S. information could provide global statistics or list companies that do business in other countries.

Government Resources

Perform a web search for embassies, government agencies, offices of official statistics, or departments of labor or commerce for your country.  They provide information to businesses that seek opportunities in that location.

View the Consumer Expenditure Survey, Consumer Price Index, and other statistical resources for foreign countries, international business, trade, economics, transporation, and more through this page for Statistics.

  • Department of Commerce  
    links to market guides by country, industry information, trade statistics
  • Export.gov  
    Free registration required to access market reports, distributors, contacts, trade show details, news, and other country-specific and industry information.
  • Survey of Current Business  
    Full-text monthly periodical contains current and historical economic indicators (GDP, income, consumer price index, production)
  • U.S. Bureau of Industry and Security  
    This Bureau of the U.S. Department of Commerce is responsible for implementing and enforcing the Export Administration Regulations, which regulate the export and reexport of most commercial items.
  • U.S. Small Business Administration's Office of International Trade  
    The mission of this office is to enhance the ability of small businesses to compete in the global marketplace; facilitate access to capital to support international trade; ensure that the interests of small business are considered and reflected in trade negotiations; and support and contribute to the U.S. Government's international agenda.
 

Doing Business in. . .

The library has some Doing Business in. . . publications for selected countries. Search the JHU Libraries Catalog for these terms, your country or region, or resources on business culture or cross-cultural.  These resources provide background and address regulations, barriers to entry, etiquette, and more.

Identify additional Doing Business in. . . publications in WorldCat. Borrow them for free through your Interlibrary Loan account.

DoingBusiness.org might provide some free information online or lead you to a list of publications for your country which focus on regulations. 

Use a web search engine (e.g. Google.com) to find similar reports or recent business information for a country. Search example: "Doing Business in" Thailand.

World Bank E-Library
View the "Doing Business" series of annual reports in this licensed database.  Consult with our government librarians for assistance.

 

 

 

Business Librarian

Profile ImageHeather Tapager
Contact Info:
Research Services Dept., M-Level Office #7
Sheridan Libraries
Johns Hopkins University
3400 N. Charles St.
Baltimore, Maryland 21218

410-516-8778 (phone)
410-516-8399 (fax)
Send Email

Subjects:
Business, Management, Marketing, Real Estate, Human Resources, Organizational Development, Finance, Accounting, Information Technology, Entrepreneurship, Advertising, Career Planning, Nonprofit Management, Company, Industry

 

Additional Assistance

Government Publications Librarians:

Jim Gillispie
jeg@jhu.edu

Lynne Stuart
lstuart@jhu.edu

Jen Darragh
jendarragh@jhu.edu

410-516-8360

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait