Online Reference Books
You'll find these online reference books useful when you need quick background information, you can't remember a fact, or you're starting a project in an area you're not familiar with.
- AccessScience This is the online version of the McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology. It includes searchable encyclopedia articles, research updates, definitions of terms, biographies of scientists, bibliographies, links to evaluated related web sites, study guides, illustrations, and more.
- Encyclopedia of Life Sciences Spanning the entire spectrum of life sciences, the Encyclopedia of Life Sciences (ELS) features more than 4,300 specially commissioned and peer-reviewed articles.
- Encyclopedia of Neuroscience New (2009) neuroscience encyclopedia that includes neurosurger, psychiatry, and other topics related to neuroscience.
- Encyclopedia of the Neurological Sciences Online encyclopedia with over 1000 entries about the neurological sciences. Articles available in both HTML and PDF formats.
- Handbook of Clinical Linguistics The Handbook of Clinical Linguistics is an original, in-depth survey of the field for students and practitioners of speech-language pathology, linguistics, psychology, and education.
- International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences Huge reference work that attempts to integrate these two large areas of work and research.
- MIT CogNet MIT CogNet is a growing, searchable collection of books, journals, reference works, OpenCourseWare links and conference materials. Content and resources are provided by The MIT Press and other publishers, professional associations, institutions, and individuals who are willing to share public access to online work.
Selected Cognitive Science Reference Books
Cognitive science is interdisciplinary, so you may find useful reference
books in the sections about philosophy, linguistics, psychology, neuroscience,
and artificial intelligence. These books provide an overview of cognitive
science. They are all shelved in the Science Reference collection on C Level of
MSE Library.
- Dictionary of Cognitive Science BF311.V56713 2004
This unusual dictionary provides multiple definitions of a term, based on what aspect of cognitive science you are interested in. For example, a term could have definitions in linguistics, psychology, and philosophy. - Encyclopedia of Cognitive Science BF311.E53 2003
A four-volume set that provides a comprehensive look at all aspects of cognitive science. Heavily illustrated, it also provides bibliographies and lists of further readings. - A Companion to Cognitive Science BF311.C578 1998
I'm hoping they'll produce a new edition soon, but the essays in this book provide a good look at cognitive science. They are divided into six groups: The Life of Cognitive Science, Areas of Study in Cognitive Science, Methodologies of
Your Librarian |
When leaving a message when I'm offline, please leave your email address.
Contact Info:
C32 MSE Library
410-516-8346
Send Email
Subjects:
biological sciences, psychology, cognitive science, neuroscience, engineering
Twitter
@mselibrary
C32 MSE Library
410-516-8346
Send Email
Subjects:
biological sciences, psychology, cognitive science, neuroscience, engineering
@mselibrary
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait