READ ME FIRST!MATLAB + SoftwareLaTeX
This is the "Home" page of the "Mathematics and Statistics" guide.
Alternate Page for Screenreader Users
Skip to Page Navigation
Skip to Page Content
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Mathematics and Statistics   Tags: a, books;, citation, mathematical, mathematics;, mathscinet;, online, resources;, search, software  

Resources related to math and mathematical statistics.
Last Updated: Aug 19, 2014 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/math Print Guide RSS Updates

Home Print Page
  Search: 
 
 

Types of Literature in Mathematics

Monographic (Book)
Series
Scholarly books that are given one overall name (e.g., Lecture Notes in Mathematics) that are published in numbered volumes but each has its own title. The MSE Library has catalogued series differently over the years, so ask your librarian if you're having trouble finding one.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Journal Articles  Journal articles are usually peer-reviewed before publication, meaning that if a mathematician submits a manuscript for publication, other mathematicians in the same field will review that article before it is published. Journals use peer review to make sure that articles that articles are of high quality.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Review Articles Review articles sum up the current state of research in a specific area. Review articles can help you think of topics, as well as identify the important researchers in a field, recent major advances and discoveries, gaps in existing research, current debates, and ideas where research might go next. To find review articles in databases, look for a term that says "review article" or "literature review." 
----------------------------------------------------------------    
Conference Proceedings  Articles or reports on current research that are presented at academic and professional meetings. Papers presented at conferences tend to focus on the latest developments in research. As with scholarly articles, conference proceedings are generally written at an expert-level. Unlike scholarly articles, conference papers do not go through a peer-review process.
----------------------------------------------------------------
Dissertations
and Theses
JHU holds both print and online dissertations and theses for works created by JHU students. JHU dissertations and those  from other schools can be searched through the library database called Dissertations and Theses.
-----------------------------------------------------------------
Technical reports and
other grey literature
This type of material often covers progress or results of research. Often they are written to serve as a progress report to a funding agency. Technical reports in the sciences are frequently sponsored by government agencies, but they can also be privately funded. There is no systemized publication and dissemination of technical reports, so they can be hard to find.
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Patents  A patent, which offers a monopoly for about 20 years depending on the country where it was issued, gives the patent owner exclusive rights to exclude others from making or selling the invention described in the patent. Patents can be searched to identify new research fronts or to avoid duplication of research effort. A patent contains diagrams and detailed descriptions that are often unpublished anywhere else.. 
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Preprints Publication in a preprint database or server can help distribute scientific ideas more quickly than the peer-reviewed scholarly article process. Preprints may differ from the postprint published article. In math, a major preprint server is arXiv.org. arXiv has preprints in physics, mathematics, non-linear science, computer science, and quanitative biology. 
-------------------------------------------------------------------
Handbooks,
Textbooks, and other Reference Books 
These kinds of books can provide important information such as formulas, theorems, or overviews of topics. Most of the math handbooks and reference books in the Science Reference collection have call numbers that start with QA.

Librarian

Profile Image
Sue Vazakas
 

New Service

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2010 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

Loading  Loading...

Tip