1. Finding Information about Tests2. Finding Tests in Scholarly Literature3. Finding Tests on the Web4. Finding Tests in Books5. Purchasing Tests
863.681.01 Research and Evaluation for Counselors
Choosing a TopicHow do I connect from off-campus? How do I find peer-reviewed articles?Search Tips
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

Counseling and Human Services  Tags: socialsciences education  

A guide to resources and research in counseling and human services.
Last update: Oct 26th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/counseling  Print Guide  RSS Updates

4. Finding Tests in Books             Print Page
  
 

Getting Started

This tab shows you how to find information about tests and how to find the tests themselves. The majority of commercially available instruments must be purchased from publishers. Tests that are not commercially available may be found in books, journal articles, printed reports, or from the author. Finding scales and measures often requires thorough searching of print and electronic library resources.

 
 

Finding Tests in Books

  • Communication Research Measures: A Sourcebook
    Call Number: MSEL Stacks P 91.3 .C62 1994
    Part one gives an overview of the areas in the communication discipline which use quantitative measures. Part two contains descriptive summaries of 62 measures, including validity and reliability information. Most of the measures are also provided.
  • Handbook of Family Measurement Techniques, 3 vols.
    Call Number: MSEL GenRef HQ728.H267 2001
    Volume one contains abstracts describing 976 measures developed between 1929-1986. Volume two covers the period 1987-1996. Descriptions in these two volumes include reliability/validity information, references, sample items, and available from information. Areas covered include dimensions of family/marital interaction, intimacy and family values, parenthood, and roles and power. Volume three includes 168 selected examples of actual instruments described in the two volumes of abstracts. A subject index is also included in volume three.
  • Handbook of Psychiatric Measures
    Call Number: MSEL Science Reference RC473.P78 A46 2000
    Introductory chapters in part one address the nature of measures and limitations in their use, psychometric properties of measures, and ethnic, cultural, and socioeconomic factors that influence the use and interpretation of measures. The remaining chapters cover measures organized by domain. Information provided includes descriptive summaries and psychometric properties, practical issues, clinical utility, references and suggested readings. Sample items are provided for most measures. Additionally, 108 actual measures are included on the CD-ROM that accompanies this resource (located in the AV Center COMP FILE 2464). Appendix C of the book includes a list of measures found on the CD-ROM. Each chapter also provides a table that lists the measures covered and indicates with an asterisk (*) which measures are included the CD-ROM.
  • Handbook of Research Design and Social Measurement
    Call Number: MSEL GenRef H62.M44 2002
    See Part 6, "Selected Sociometric Scales and Indexes." Scales cover areas such as social status, group structure and dynamics, leadership, family and marriage, etc.
  • Handbook of Tests and Measurements for Black Populations, 2 vols.
    Call Number: MSEL Stacks BF176.H37 1996
    This is a collection of more than 100 psychological tests and measures developed for use with African Americans. Volume one focuses on children, adolescents, and family, and volume two presents measures appropriate for late adolescents, young adults, and older age groups. The tests are in various stages of development, but information regarding rationale for the measure and reliability and validity data are provided. Except as otherwise noted, most of the authors have granted non-commercial use of the tests and measures for research, service, or instructional purposes.
  • Measurement of Nursing Outcomes
    Call Number: Welch Library WY 16 M484 2001
    A collection of tools that measure client outcomes, nursing performance, clinical skills, and client self-care and coping skills.
  • Measures of Personality and Social Psychological Attitudes
    Call Number: MSEL Stacks BF 698.4 .M381 1991
    Collection of attitude scales that are useful in survey research and cover subject areas such as self-esteem, loneliness, social anxiety, locus-of control, sex roles, values, etc. Reliability and validity data, evaluative comments, and references are provided. Sample items, and in most cases, the actual measures are reproduced.
  • Measures of Political Attitudes
    Call Number: MSEL JA74.5.M44 1999
    Includes reviews, reliability and validity data, and references. Again, sample items, and in most cases, the actual measures are reproduced. Covers measures of liberalism/conservatism, racial attitudes, political alienation, etc.
  • Measuring Health: A Guide to Rating Scales and Questionnaires
    Call Number: Lilienfeld Library RA408.5 .M47 1996
    Includes reviews, descriptions, test properties, etc., for rating scales and questionnaires that cover topics such as physical disability, pain, psychological well-being, and quality of life.
  • Tests and Measures in the Social Sciences: Tests Available in Compilation Volumes
    Compiled by Helen Hough, Health Sciences Librarian at the University of Texas at Arlington, this is an index of full text measures in print monographs. Eighty sources are included and searchable by author or keyword. The tables-of-contents for the sources are also available.
 

Librarian

Profile ImageElizabeth Uzelac

When leaving a message when I'm offline, please include your email address.



Contact Info:
Office: M-Level, MSE Library, Homewood Campus
Phone: (410) 516-0330
Email: euzelac@jhu.edu
Send Email

Subjects:
Education, Counseling and Human Services

Twitter
@mselibrary

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait