Course Guide Archive L'Affaire DreyfusMonsters in the 16th and 17th CenturiesSenior SeminarStory Telling in the Middle Ages
Checking out, Renewing, Recalling Books Computing in the library Connecting from off-campus Find an article online Find Films and DVD's How do I find Book Reviews? How do I find current fiction? Who is the Librarian for...? 
Archival ResearchDissertationsForeign NewspapersFrench Dictionaries Grants and FellowshipsLiterary TheoryMLA StyleThe Academic Job Search
E-TextsReference Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

French Language and Literature 

Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the French language and literature.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/french  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Articles             Print Page
  
 

Indexes in Print

For a complete listing of indexes, see Guide to Secondary Literature.

While online databases are wonderful for finding more recent articles, most older material, and much of the specialized material from European journals, will be only indexed in print indexes.


Bibliographie der französischen Sprach-und-
Literaturwissenschaft
. (the "Klapp").

Essential resource. Many resources not in any database.
General Reference: Z 2171.B56 (1956-present)

Critical bibliography of French literature: The Medieval Period, 16th, 17th, 18th, 19th, 20th centuries.
Invaluable annotated bibliography.
General Reference: Z 2171 .C74

Bibliographie de la littérature française du 16e, 17e, et 18e siècles. A. Cioranescu.
Lists works written, as well as Études for most writers. The Études section is sometimes quite detailed. Includes a section listing works on the literary history of the period.
General Reference: Z 2172 .C48

Manuel bibliographique de la littérature française moderne XVIe, XVIIe, XVIIIe, et XIXe siècle. G. Lanson.
Very useful organization by subjects: consult the Table des matières. Brief citations, but provides access to obscure works and little known authors.
D Level: Z 2171 .L22 1921a

The year's work in modern language studies.
Very useful introduction to recent secondary literature.
General Reference: Current edition PB 1 .Y45
D Level 1975-2002: Blue Labels PB 1 .Y45
Libraries Service Center
1929-1974: PD 1 .Y39

 

Online Indexes

Search these together, or individually.

More Online Indexes

Search these together, or individually.

 

Librarian

Profile ImageSue Waterman
Contact Info:
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email

Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars

 

Research Guides

 

 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait