Guides (books)

- Archives and research in France
Call Number: Gen Ref CD 1190 .W45 - Les sources de l'histoire littéraire aux Archives Nationales
Call Number: Gen Ref PQ 142 .F7 1961 - La recherche historique en archives: XVIe-XVIIe-XVIIIe siècles
Call Number: B Level Stacks CD 1191 .R431 - Lire et comprendre les archives des XVIe et XVIIe siècles
Call Number: D Level Stacks Z 115 .F7 D45 - La recherche historique en archives: XIXe et XXe siècles
Call Number: B Level CD 1191 .R43 1996 - Guide de l'utilisateur des inventaires des Archives Nationales
Call Number: B Level CD 1196 1990a - Bibliothèques et archives: comment se documenter? Guide pratique
Call Number: Gen Ref Z 797 .A1 C47
Tips for Research
Finding archive catalogs or guides in the Libraries Catalog: do a Basic Keyword Search on Subject keywords such as archives, guide, archives nationales, france, manuscripts, catalogs, handbooks. Another good subject keyword is Sources. This gets you primary literature. There are many indexes and guides to individual archives, or archives in specific subjects areas, such as music, history, literature, etc.
Use one of the databases below to search across thousands of collections worldwide.
Web Sites
IMEC Institut Mémoires de l'Edition Contemporaine
Bibliothèque de l'Arsenal in Paris, with literary manuscripts and rare books
Brouillons d'écrivains. BNF exhibit, highlighting their extensive collection of literary manuscripts.
Archives de France : from the Ministère de la Culture
Orient Expresse : un répertoire d'adresses de bibliothèques et de centres de documentation
Libraries and Archives: France from the Library of Congress
Librarian |
Sue WatermanOffice: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email
Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars
Research Aids
- Using archives: a practical guide From Canada, but still a lot of good information
- Using archives and manuscripts: a tutorial
- Archive Etiquette
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait