Course Guide Archive L'Affaire DreyfusMonsters in the 16th and 17th CenturiesSenior SeminarStory Telling in the Middle Ages
Checking out, Renewing, Recalling Books Computing in the library Connecting from off-campus Find an article online Find Films and DVD's How do I find Book Reviews? How do I find current fiction? Who is the Librarian for...? 
Archival ResearchDissertationsForeign NewspapersFrench Dictionaries Grants and FellowshipsLiterary TheoryMLA StyleThe Academic Job Search
E-TextsReference Sources
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

French Language and Literature 

Resources, both online and elsewhere, for the French language and literature.
Last update: Oct 30th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/french  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Reference Sources             Print Page
  
 

Encyclopedias

 

Literary Guides

"Encyclopedias" of French literature, in General Reference on M-Level

  • Dictionnaire des littératures de langue française. PQ4 1. B4 1984
  • Dictionnaire des oeuvres de langue française. PQ 41 .B42 1994
  • Dictionnaire des lettres françaises. PQ 41 .D53
  • Guide to French literature, 1789 to the present. PQ 41 .L48 1992
  • The new Oxford companion to literature in French. PQ 41 .N49 1995
  • Johns Hopkins Guide to Literary Theory and Criticism
 
 

Dictionaries

Dictionaries are available for use in the library (General Reference) and to check out (stacks on D Level).

You can locate dictionaries in the online catalog by doing an Alphabetical search on Subjects. Type "french language--dictionaries--english" as your search. Or just "french language--dictionaries" for strictly French dictionaries.

French dictionaries: a guide to historic dictionaries and other language tools in the JHU libraries

 

Librarian

Sue Waterman
Contact Info:
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email

Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars

 

Bibliography

Books in print, articles on French literature, books on French publishing, bibliographies

  • Bibliographie der französischen Literaturwissenschaft Z 2171 .B56
    1985-present. Essential index to articles on French literature.
  • Bibliographie de la littérature française du 16e, 17e, et 18e siècles Z 2171 .C52 1965. Excellent for background information on the periods.
  • Catalogue collectif des Périodiques Z 6945 .P28
    Catalog of French periodicals from the 16th century to 1939.
  • Histoire de l'Édition française Z 8 .F8 H57
  • L'Édition française depuis 1945 Z 305 .E292 1998
 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait