Web Resources

- A Library of articles and advice on Academia, and finding (and keeping) a job
- Academic Job Search Resources lots of great links from the University of Chicago
- Academic Job Search another good site, from the University of Minnesota
- Job Search Page from Duke University: sites that list jobs, that post resumes, information, and advice
- Academic Cover Letters
Online Job Postings
- MLA Job List: you must be a member to search online. Also available in General Reference (PB 6 .J62) on M Level o f the Library.
- Chronicle of Higher Education
- Academic 360.com : a meta-collection of Internet resources on job announcements
- Academic Careers Online: a fast search engine for all types of jobs. You can also post your resumé
- HigherEd Jobs
- University Jobs
Jobs Overseas
Guardian Jobs (UK)
Times Higher Education : click on the JOBS tab
Reuters AlertNet : international jobs
Books in the Library
Although many have "English" as their domain, they apply to foreign language and literatures as well. Many of these books are published by the MLA.
Finding a Job
The MLA guide to the job search : a handbook for departments and for PhD's and PhD candidates in English and foreign languages. General Reference: PB 11 .C37 1996
The Chicago guide to your academic career: a portable mentor for scholars from graduate school through tenure. Has a chapter on "Landing an academic job" B Level: LB1778.G63 2001
The academic job search handbook General Reference: LB2331.72.H45 2001
Job search in academe : strategic rhetorics for faculty job candidates B Level: LB2331.72.F67 1999
Finding an academic job B Level: LB2331.72.S68 1998
A Career guide for PhD's and PhD candidates in English and foreign languages. The nuts and bolts of the process. General Reference: PB 11 .C35 1985
Getting an academic job: strategies for success. From the interview to negotiating a salary. B Level: LB 2332.72 .K76 1997
The curriculum vitae handbook : using your CV to present and promote your academic career. General Reference: LB 2331.72 .A58 1994
Chairing an academic department. Chapter on recruiting new faculty and the search process. See it from the standpoint of your potential employers. B Level: LB 2341 .G555 1995
Academia
From student to scholar: a candid guide to becoming a professor. B level: LB 1778 .C26 2008
The academic's handbook B Level: LB 1778.2 .A24 1995
The academic career handbook B Level: LB2331.74.G7 B53 1998
The questions of tenure B Level: LB2335.7.Q84 2002
Power, race, and gender in academe : strangers in the tower? Resource and teaching guide for young faculty as they enter the profession - women, gay and ethnic minorities. B Level: LC3727.P69 2000
The employment of English : theory, jobs, and the future of literary studies.
Intellectual
and economic status of the profession of literary study; current
employment conditions; professional tensions in a shrunken job market;
function of literary study and interpretive theory in departments of
language and literature. Eisenhower D-Level Blue Labels PE68.U5 B48 1998
Convention survival techniques
: practical strategies for getting the most out of your
professional association's meetings. General Reference: HD
6496.5 .F73 1997
Know the Field
Introduction to scholarship in modern languages and literatures. Basic introduction to theory, literary studies, disciplines and genres. D Level Blue Labels PB 29 .I58 2007
Redrawing the boundaries : the transformation of English and American literary studies. D Level: PO 21 .R43 1992
The Future of doctoral studies in English. A little outdated, but still has useful information. Section on "The Transition from Graduate Student to Faculty Member." Libraries Service Center PN68.U5 F88 1989
An introduction to bibliographical and textual studies. What the study of the book as an object can contribute to literary studies and scholarly editing. D Level: Z1001.W58 1999
Hone your Skills
MLA publishes many guides to teaching literature. Search under titles in the Libraries Catalog [17] , "Approaches to teaching...". You will find Balzac, Baudelaire, Goethe, Kafka, Dante, Boccaccio, Cervantes, García Márquez, etc.
Teaching literature and other arts. Another MLA guide. Essays on courses that weave the visual arts and music into literature. D Level: NX280 .T42 1990
Teaching literature in a second language D-Level Blue Labels PN56.L27 P37 2000
Teaching contemporary theory to undergraduates. Another MLA guide. D-Level Blue Labels PN 86 .T43
Teaching literature and medicine. Another MLA guide. D-Level Blue Labels PN56.M38 T43 2000
Writing, teaching, and learning in the disciplines. Using writing in your classroom for effective learning. B level: LB 1576 .W761 1992
Successful publishing in scholarly journals. The where's and how's of publishing. Don't forget the MLA Directory of Periodicals for details on specific journal submissions. D Level: Z 479 .T551 1994
Interrelations of literature. Focusing on literature, each essay takes on a different subject of interrelation: linguistics, philosophy, religion, myth, sociology, politics, science, etc. D Level: P2045.8 .I561 1982
Textual analysis : some readers reading. Examples of scholars' analysis, from Baudelaire to Cervantes, by way of Pertrach and Kleist. D Level: P2710 .T467 1986
Learning foreign and second languages : perspectives in research and scholarship. Includes classroom theory, language acquisition, approaches to teaching, role of technology, and good bibliographies. D-Level Blue Labels P51.L39 1998
Librarian |
Office: M Level, MSE Library
Phone: (410) 516-5212
Send Email
Subjects:
German and Romance Languages and Literature, the Humanities Center, Jewish Studies, the Writing Seminars
Description
Loading content... please wait





Loading content... please wait