Online Resources in Classics
Find articles, book chapters, and other scholarly materials by searching the databases below.
Begin with:
The database uses abbreviations for the journals that it indexes. For a list of these, please use this Abbreviations List.
For a more exhaustive search, also try the databases listed below.
Search across checkmarked databases using the Search box, or search ONE database by clicking on its TITLE and going to the search screen for that particular database.

Specialized Databases and Web Resources
- Brepolis: Brepols Publications Online Includes Brepols's Library of Latin Texts (formerly CETEDOC) and Database of Latin Dictionaries.
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review BMCR publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies; this site is the authoritative archive from 1990 to the present.
- Corpus Vasorum Antiquorum (CVA) Online An illustrated catalogue of more than 100,000 ancient vases, CVA is a central corpus for the field of ancient art and archaeology. Also in print: Eisenhower Classics Reference, NK4640.C6
- DAI Bibliotheken The Online Catalog of the Libraries of the Deutschen Archaeologischen Instituts.
- DYABOLA To access, enter ZrKl6Fda as Key Code. This resource contains electronic subject catalogs of publications on art and archaeology of the ancient world, including holdings of the RGK the DAI.
- Gnomon Online Electronic version of the most recent portion of Gnomon: Kritische Zeitschrift für die gesamte klassische Altertumswissenschaft.
- Latin Library A small selection of Latin texts.
- Past Masters: Full Texts of Classic Works in the Humanities In "Greek Philosophy" section, includes Aristotle's Complete Works and Plato's Complete Dialogues; also includes the Oxford Classical Dictionary.
- Perseus Digital Library A multimedia resource that provides an overview of the ancient Greek and Roman world, concentrating on historical essays, tools and reference works, art and archaeology, atlases, and primary texts.
- Thesaurus Linguae Graecae (TLG) Founded in 1972 the TLG has already collected and digitized most literary texts written in Greek from Homer to the fall of Byzantium in AD 1453. Its goal is to create a comprehensive digital library of Greek literature from antiquity to the present era.
- TOCS-IN: Tables of Contents of Journals of Interest to Classicists TOCS-IN provides the tables of contents of a selection of Classics, Near Eastern Studies, and Religion journals, with some full text and abstracts.
- APIS: Advanced Papyrological Information System A collections-based repository hosting information about and images of papyrological materials located in collections around the world.
Scholarly Book Reviews
- Bryn Mawr Classical Review BMCR publishes timely reviews of current scholarly work in the field of classical studies; this site is the authoritative archive from 1990 to the present.
- New York Review of Books
- Times Literary Supplement Centenary Archive This resource includes complete page images of the Times Literary Supplement (TLS), a leading book review periodical, from its inception in 1902 to 1994.
Research and Citation Tools
- Library Toolbar Internet browser plugin that offers a number of search features. It is easily installed on Firefox or Internet Explorer.
- Search Plugins Add the JHU Libraries Catalog and other databases to your browser's search box.
- RefWorks Web-based personal database for storing and organizing citations and creating easy bibliographies.
- Zotero Firefox extension to help you collect, manage, and cite your research sources from your computer's browser.
Librarian |
Donald JuedesContact Info:
M Level, MSE Library
(410) 516-0605
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Classics, Near Eastern Studies, Philosophy
M Level, MSE Library
(410) 516-0605
Send Email
Subjects:
Art History, Classics, Near Eastern Studies, Philosophy
At Hopkins
Link to the Hopkins academic department's web page.
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait