Reference Sources
The following is a selection of reference sources supporting the study of African American history and culture. They include the followings categories: bibliographies, encyclopedias, biographies, and chronologies.
Bibliographies and Research Guides
- African American Experience in Cyberspace : A Resource Guide to the Best Websites on Black Culture and History
- African American Experience: An Historiographical and Bibliographical Guide
- Columbia Guide to African Amerian History Since 1939
- Harvard Guide to African-American History
- Images of Blacks in American Culture: A Reference Guide to Information Sources
Encyclopedias & Almanacs
- African Americans at War: An Encyclopedia
- African-American Almanac
- Africana: The Encyclopedia of the African and African American Experience
- Encyclopedia of African American Business History
- Encyclopedia of African American History 1619-1895: From the Colonial Period to the Age of Frederick Douglass
- Encyclopedia of African American Military History
- Encyclopedia of African American Society
- Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History: the Black experience in the Americas
- Encyclopedia of African-American Religions
- Encyclopedia of Black Studies
- Encyclopedia of Minorities in American Politics
- Encyclopedia of the Great Black Migration
- Encyclopedia of the Harlem Renaissance
- Greenwood Encyclopedia of African American Folklore
- Organizing Black America: An Encyclopedia of African American Organizations
- Oxford African American Studies Center
Biographical Compilations
- African American Architects: A Biographical Dictionary, 1865-1945
- African American Authors, 1745-1945: A Bio-bibliographical Critical Sourcebook
- African American Biographical Database
- African American Dramatists: An A-Z Guide
- African American Political Leaders
- African American Writers
- African Americans in the Military
- African Americans in the Visual Arts
- African-American Business Leaders and Entrepreneurs
- Encyclopedia of African American women writers
- Profiles of African American Stage Performers and Theatre People, 1816-1960
Chronologies
- African American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience This chronology presents the history of African Americans from pre-colonial times to the present. Includes overview essays, sidebars, and primary sources, and over 200 images that chronicle the story of African Americans.
Librarian |
Contact Info:
Tel: 410-516-8930
Email: yzeng@jhu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, Political Science, East Asian Studies, Africana Studies, Latin American Studies
Tel: 410-516-8930
Email: yzeng@jhu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, Political Science, East Asian Studies, Africana Studies, Latin American Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait