Primary Sources
The following is a list of selected online, print, and microform collections available at MSE library or on the Web. They are all primary sources in Africana Studies.
Online
- African American Newspapers: The 19th Century Search the full-text of the following titles: The Christian Recorder; Colored American; Frederick Douglass Papers and more.
- African American Song African American Song brings 50,000 tracks of music to the ears of library patrons and music scholars. It’s the first online resource to document the history of African American music in the form of an online music listening service.
- African-American Poetry, 1760-1900 A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring thousands of poems by some of the most important African American poets of the last century.
- American Memory Provides open access to selected materials from the collections of the Library of Congress and other institutions that chronicle the history of the United States.
- Black Drama, 1850 to Present Contains approximately 1200 plays by 201 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.
- Du Bois Resources Contains digitized Du Bois papers, books and images.
- From Slavery to Freedom: The African American Pamphlet Collection, 1822-1909 Presents 396 pamphlets from the Rare Book and Special Collections Division, published from 1822 through 1909, by African-American authors and others who wrote about slavery, African colonization, Emancipation, Reconstruction, and related topics.
- Guide to African American Sources Highlights African American sources in the H. Furlong Baldwin Library at the Maryland Historical Society.
- LexisNexis Primary Sources in U.S. History Full text of indexes and finding aids for a large number of microform collections of primary source material, such as National Security Council documents, and private papers of government officials.
- Samuel J. May Anti-Slavery Collection An extensive collection of slavery and abolitionist materials gathered by Reverend Samuel Joseph May. The collection includes over 10,000 pamphlets and leaflets documenting the anti-slavery struggle at the local, regional, and national levels.
- Say It Plain: A Century of Great African American Speeches This is the first anthology of African American political oratory designed for the ear and the eye. It is a sampling from the great stream of words spoken by black Americans, exhorting the nation to make good on its democratic principles.
- Slavery and Anti-Slavery: Debates over Slavery and Abolition Over 1.5 million cross-searchable pages of primary sources on transatlantic slavery and other scholarly publications.
- The Marcus Garvey and Universal Negro Improvement Association papers
- Twentieth-Century African American Poetry A database of modern and contemporary African American poetry, featuring almost 9,000 poems by 62 of the most important African American poets of the last century.
- The James Birney Anti-Slavery Collection of Johns Hopkins University A collection of over 1,000 books and pamphlets, most of which were collected by abolitionist writer and publisher James G. Birney (1792-1857).
- The Black Abolitionist Papers A selection of primary sources from a larger collection available on microfilm (see below). Contents: The British Isles; Canada; and The United States.
Microforms
- American Civil Liberties Union Archives, 1912-1950
- American Civil Liberties Union Archives, 1950-1990. Series II - IV.
- Black Abolitionist Papers, 1830-1865
- Papers of the American slave trade. Series A, Selections from the Rhode Island Historical Society
- Papers of the American slave trade. Series B, Selections from the Newport Historical Society
- Papers of the American slave trade. Series C, Selections from the Southern Historical Collection
- Papers of the American slave trade. Series D, Records of the U.S. Customhouses
- Papers of the NAACP
- Race, slavery, and free Blacks. Series I, Petitions to southern legislatures, 1777-1867
- Race, slavery, and free Blacks. Series II, Petitions to southern county courts, 1775-1867
- The Black power movement. Part 1, Amiri Baraka, from Black arts to Black radicalism
- The Black power movement. Part 2, The papers of Robert F. Williams
- The Black power movement. Part 3, Papers of the Revolutionary Action Movement, 1962-1996
- The Black power movement. Part 4, The League of Revolutionary Black Workers, 1965-1976
Librarian |
Contact Info:
Tel: 410-516-8930
Email: yzeng@jhu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, Political Science, East Asian Studies, Africana Studies, Latin American Studies
Tel: 410-516-8930
Email: yzeng@jhu.edu
Send Email
Subjects:
Anthropology, Political Science, East Asian Studies, Africana Studies, Latin American Studies
Description
Loading content... please wait



Loading content... please wait