Getting Started
This tab shows you how to find information about tests and how to find the tests themselves. The
majority of commercially available instruments must be purchased from
publishers. Tests that are not commercially available may be found in
books, journal articles, printed reports, or from the author.
Finding scales and measures often requires thorough searching of print
and electronic library resources.
Find More
Search the library catalog below with one of these suggested Library of Congress subject terms (enter exactly as written):
- Educational tests and measurements
- Psychological tests
- Psychometrics
- Psychological tests for children

Finding Information about Tests: Online
Mental Measurements Yearbook contains information about and reviews of all English-language standardized tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. For each test, the database provides the name of the test author, publication information, scoring information, and the number of the print edition of Mental Measurements Yearbook in which the test was described. It also includes an overview of the test, a description of the test materials and time needed, and reviews of the test.
A comprehensive bibliography to all known commercially available tests that are currently in print in the English language. Provides information including purpose, publisher, in-print status, price, test acronym, intended test population, administration times, publication date(s), and test author(s). A score index permits users to identify what is being measured by each test. Tests in Print is directly linked to the test reviews published in the Mental Measurements Yearbook series.
Finding Information about Tests: In Print
Note: call numbers in this guide refer to the MSE Library. Please consult the JHU Libraries Catalog to find holdings for your local Hopkins library.
- Mental Measurements Yearbook
Call Number: Gen Ref LB 1131 .Z9 B9
Contains reviews of tests covering educational skills, personality, vocational aptitude, psychology, and related areas. For each test, you can find the author, publisher, scoring information, and at least one review of the test. - Tests in Print
Call Number: Gen Ref Z58114.E9T47
Covers published and commercially available tests in psychology. Each entry consists of the test title, intended population, publication date, author, publisher, foreign adaptations, and references. - Tests
Call Number: Gen Ref BF176.T43 2003
Contains information on thousands of testing instruments in psychology, education, and business. For evaluative techniques or data on reliability, validity, or norms, please refer to Test Critiques (see below). - Test Critiques
Call Number: Gen Ref LB3051.T419
Designed as a companion to Tests (BF176.T43). Test Critiques includes supplemental information such as psychometric information on reliability, validity, and norm development. - The Use of Psychological Testing for Treatment and Outcomes Assessment: Instruments for Children and Adolescents
Call Number: Sci Ref RC473.P79 U83 2004
Contains reviews of instruments. - Directory of Test Collections in Academic, Professional, and Research Libraries
Call Number: Gen Ref LB3051.D564
Compiled by the Ad Hoc Committee on the Test Collection Directory, Education and Behavioral Sciences Section, Association of College and Research Libraries. - Directory of Unpublished Experimental Mental Measures, v 1(1974) - v8(198)
Call Number: Sci Ref BF431.D5
These volumes supplement the Mental Measurements Yearbook.
Your Librarian |
When leaving a message when I'm offline, please leave your email address.
C32 MSE Library
410-516-8346
Send Email
Subjects:
biological sciences, psychology, cognitive science, neuroscience, engineering
@mselibrary
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait