University Writing Program (UWP)
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- University Writing Program (UWP)
- 060.113.14 - Public Space and Urban Life (Schley)
Newspapers
Research Guide for Newspapers
Find newspaper articles, both current and historical, on your topic by using the resources listed on this guide.
Find Background Information
To explore your topic in a general way, these resources may be useful as a starting point.
- WikipediaUse cautiously for quick information - but verify in scholarly resources if used for research.
National Resources
Sample Subject Headings
Below is a SAMPLE of some Subject Headings to use when you search the catalog:
Search for Journal Articles and Reports
Use the indexes listed below to find journal articles on your topic. For more, please see the complete listing of research databases available to the JHU community.
- CQ ResearcherReports covering political and social issues, with regular reports on topics in health, international affairs, education, the environment, technology and the U.S. economy.
- Sociological AbstractsAbstracts and indexes the international literature of sociology and related disciplines in the social and behavioral sciences. The database provides abstracts of journal articles and citations to book reviews drawn from over 1,800+ serials publications and also provides abstracts of books, book chapters, dissertations, conference papers and working papers. Cited references are included for many journal articles.
Google Scholar
This feature of Google searches across many scholarly Internet sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Google Scholar is especially useful for tracking down or verifying difficult or partial citations.
To show links to JHU Library Resources within search results, change Google Preferences on your computer.
At Hopkins
Google Book Search
Search inside books made available on the Internet; view or preview them online, then check to see if our library owns or has access to them.