University Writing Program (UWP)
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- University Writing Program (UWP)
- 060.114.19 - End Times (Westcott)
Google Tips
Want to make your Google search more effective?
1. Use the OR operator. Ex: apocalypse OR armageddon.
2. Search within numerical ranges using the .. operator. Ex: 1973..2011
3. Exclude specific terms with the - operator. Ex: apocalypse -christian
4. Search for specific document types, like powerpoint slides or videos, using the "filetype:" operator. Ex: apocalypse filetype:jpg
5. Limit your search to a particular site with the "site:" operator. Ex: apocalypse site:nytimes.com
Google Book Search
Search inside books made available on the Internet; view or preview them online, then check to see if our library owns or has access to them.
Google Scholar
This feature of Google searches across many scholarly Internet sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Google Scholar is especially useful for tracking down or verifying difficult or partial citations.
To show links to JHU Library Resources within search results, change Google Preferences on your computer.
Find Background Information
To explore your topic in a general way, these resources may be useful as a starting point.
- WikipediaUse cautiously for quick information - but verify in scholarly resources if used for research.
Sample Subject Headings
Here are some sample Subject Headings to use when you search the catalog:
- Apocalyptic art.
- Apocalyptic literature.
- Apocalyptic literature — History and criticism.
- Apocalypse in art.
- Apocalypse in literature.
- Apocalypse in motion pictures.
- Dystopias
- Dystopias in literature.
- Eschatology.
- Eschatology in literature.
- Future life.
- Four Horsemen of the Apocalypse
- Millennialism in literature.
- Prophecies in literature.
- Science fiction, American — History and criticism.
- Science fiction, English — History and criticism.
- Science fiction — History and criticism.
- Utopias.
- Utopias — History.
- Utopias in literature.
- Utopias in literature — Encyclopedias.
- Visions in literature.
Search for Journal Articles
Use the indexes listed below to find journal articles on your topic. For more, please see the complete listing of research databases available to the JHU community.
- Academic Search CompleteA scholarly database with full text for 5,300 publications as well as images, for nearly every academic field of study.
- America: History & LifeAn index of literature covering the history and culture of the United States and Canada, from prehistory to the present. The database indexes 1,700 journals from 1964 to present and also includes citations and links to book and media reviews.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)Contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
- JSTORAn archive of important scholarly journals, spanning many disciplines. The most recent 3-5 years are not included.
- MLA International BibliographyA detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Project MuseHumanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. Current contents plus backfiles going back over a decade for selected titles.
Newspapers
Research Guide for Newspapers
Find newspaper articles, both current and historical, on your topic by using the resources listed on this guide.
At Hopkins
 |
Link to the Hopkins academic department's web page.
About Blogging
Some general blogging guidelines
TIME Magazine's Best Blogs of 2011
Apocalyptic Fiction (a blog about fiction)
The Apocalypse Blog (a fictional blog)