University Writing Program (UWP)
- Sheridan Libraries
- Guides
- University Writing Program (UWP)
- 060.113.13 Strange New Place (Miller)
Background Information
These resources may be useful to help you gain general background knowledge or look up references.
- King James BibleThe King James or Authorized Version of the Bible was printed in 1611 and became the standard edition of the Bible for nearly three centuries. This fully searchable online version presents the full text (of the ‘He’ version) with all introductory matter, annotation, calendars, genealogies and tables.
- Oxford English DictionaryTraces the usage of words through 2.5 million quotations from a wide range of international English language sources.
- Oxford Dictionary of National Biography56,521 biographies of people who shaped the history of the British Isles and beyond, from the earliest times to the year 2004.
- WikipediaVerify all information in scholarly resources.
Google Book Search
Some books can be read cover to cover; for others, only previews or selections are available, depending on copyright restrictions. If the entire volume is not available on Google Books, use Catalyst or WorldCat to locate a physical copy.
Google Scholar
This feature of Google searches across many scholarly sources, including peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles. Google Scholar is especially useful for tracking down or verifying difficult or partial citations.
To show links to JHU Library Resources within search results, change Google Preferences on your computer.
Some Subject Terms
English drama — Early modern and Elizabethan, 1500-1600 — History and criticism.
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616.
Shakespeare, William, 1564-1616. Tempest.
Divination.
Medicine, Magic, mystic, and spagiric.
Magic.
Occultism.
Oracles.
Travel — History.
Travel in literature.
Travelers — Mediterranean Region — History.
Travelers' writings, English — History and criticism.
Voyages and travels.
Secondary Sources
Use the indexes listed below to find journal articles on your topic. For more, please see the complete listing of research databases available to the JHU community.
- Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature (ABELL)Contains 880,000 records, covering monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews and collections of essays published anywhere in the world from 1920 onwards.
- JSTORAn archive of important scholarly journals, spanning many disciplines. The most recent 3-5 years are not included.
- MLA International BibliographyA detailed bibliography of journal articles, books and dissertations. Subjects include literature, language and linguistics, folklore, literary theory & criticism, and dramatic arts, as well as the historical aspects of printing and publishing.
- Project MuseHumanities, arts, and social sciences journals from scholarly publishers. Current contents plus backfiles going back over a decade for selected titles.
Digital Primary Sources for Early Modern Texts
- British Literary Manuscripts OnlineBritish Literary Manuscripts Online, c. 1660-1900, presents facsimile images of literary manuscripts, including letters and diaries, drafts of poems, plays, novels, and other literary works, and similar materials.
- Early English Books Online (EEBO)EEBO contains digital facsimile page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales and British North America and works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700 - from the first book printed in English by William Caxton, through the age of Spenser and Shakespeare and the tumult of the English Civil War.
- English Short Title Catalogue (ESTC)ESTC is a bibliographic database containing records for items printed in England or in any of England's dependencies, 1473-1800. Currently, it contains about 413,000 items. When complete, it will contain virtually all English items printed between 1473 and 1800. Appended to each record is a list of libraries which have reported holding a copy of the item described. Updated daily. Coverage from the earliest Caxton incunabulum (1473) through the last item printed in 1800.
- British Newspapers 1600-1900The British Newspapers 1600-1900 collection of digital facsimiles contains the 17th- and 18th-century newspapers, pamphlets, and books gathered by the Reverend Charles Burney (1757-1817), which totals almost 1 million pages and contains approximately 1,270 titles.
- Parker Library on the WebMatthew Parker (1504-75) was a powerful figure of the English Reformation and an avid book collector. His collection of documents consists of items spanning from the sixth-century Gospels of St. Augustine to sixteenth-century records relating to the English Reformation. The digital collection contains a high-resolution digital copy of every imageable page of most manuscripts in the Parker Library.
At Hopkins
 |
Link to the Hopkins academic department's web page.