Find books, films, and more research material in the libraries by searching below:

You can browse call number ranges to find recent books and get ideas. The call number range for recent books of American fiction is PS 3550-3626. These call numbers are in the Blue Label Section of D-level and cover the years 1961 to present.

  Click the brown FindIt button to find the full text of an article.

If you've found an article that the JHU Libraries don't own, request to borrow it from another library via Interlibrary Services.

Short Story Index

A database that indexes short stories written in or translated into English that have appeared in collections and selected periodicals.

Essay & General Literature Index

A database that indexes nearly 65,000 essays contained in over 5,300 anthologies and collections. Some 300 single and multi-author collections are indexed annually, plus more than 20 selected annuals and serials. Subject coverage includes economics, political science, history, criticism of literary works, art history, drama, and film.

Literature Online (LiOn)

A full-text database that includes original works of poetry, prose and drama in English, together with criticism and a reference library.

Literature Resource Center

A full-text database that includes original works along with articles from scholarly journals and literary magazines, critical essays, work and topic overviews and biographies.

Find scholarly articles and book chapters inside any one of the databases below by clicking on its link, or search across all the marked databases by entering terms in the search box.  (And remember that LiOn and Literature Resource Center also have academic essays.)

Go to Online Resources to see all the online resources in English and American Literature.

Google Scholar searches across many scholarly internet sources.

Be sure to set "scholar preferences" so that your "library links" connect to Johns Hopkins University and Open WorldCat. Then Google Scholar will automatically return your results with the "Find It" link.

Please answer these short questions about what you learned in today's session.  Thanks!