Finding Books of All AgesFluid Mechanics Classics
GeneralSpecific Topics
1. What Is a Primary Source?2. Primary Sources Online3. Historical Newspapers and Periodicals4. Archives across JHU
1. GeneralAstronomyChemistryEngineeringGeology; EnvironmentMathematicsMedicinePhysicsPsychology
How Do I Read / Scan / Copy It?Landmarks of ScienceMicroform Sets in Library Catalog
GeneralSpecific Topics
Domesticating Technology, 140.113Exploration and Science, 140.389The Scientific Revolution, 140.321
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

History of Science and Technology 

This guide will help with your research about historical aspects of science and technology, with some additional guidance about the history of medicine.
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/histsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

General             Print Page
  
 

All Subjects

Here are some wonderful online photo and image collections of many subjects in many media.

AccuNet/AP/Multimedia Archive -- Over one million photographs dating back to 1826, as well as tens of thousands of graphics, more than 4,500 hours of audio files dating from the 1920's, and news since 1997.

ARTstor -- A collection of digital images in the humanities and social sciences.
   NEW!  "Magnum Photos" added as of 2/2009: "...photographs from around the world, covering industry, society and people, places of interest, politics, news events, disasters and conflict, from the late 1930s to the present day."

British Museum Images -- Images depicting world culture and history including ceramics, sculpture, prints, drawings, and paintings. Can be printed for free. There is a fee for usage other than individual.

Caltech Institute Archives -- "This archive holds documents, artifacts, and pictorial materials about Caltech's history from 1891+, but also includes many historical sources in science and technology worldwide, from the time of Copernicus to today."

Image Collections -- This site from the Centre for Digital Library Research at Strathclyde University in Glasgow

Images of History on the Web -- This article by David Mattison of the British Columbia Archives gives an annotated list of good sites to find historical images, including search tools, public and private galleries from Canada and the United States, archives, and more.

JHU Digital Image Database (DID@JHU) -- This is a collection of high-quality digital images collected specifically for courses taught at Johns Hopkins. The collection now numbers over 35,000 images, including important materials from NASA and the Johns Hopkins Institute of the History of Medicine, although the subjects cover everything imaginable.

Museum of the History of Science (University of Oxford) -- Available resources include online exhibits, an image library, and museum newsletters.

Royal Society of Chemistry's timeline

  • This is not only chemistry, but "a visual exploration of key events in the history of science with particular emphasis on chemistry."
  • Individual items are illustrated and linked to further information.
  • The main html timeline window may takke 1-2 minutes to load, but can then be bookmarked.

Smithsonian Images -- About 2,000 photographs from the Smithsonian's 18 museums, research sites, and the National Zoo are now online. You can even build your own scrapbook of images. Begin by clicking HELP so that you can see how the site works.

 
 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait