GENERAL
American Philosophical Society Library (Philadelphia, PA) -- Manuscript collections in nuclear physics, computer development, medicine, and more, specializing in the history of genetics and eugenics, the study of natural history in the 18th and 19th centuries, quantum mechanics, and the development of cultural anthropology in America. For descriptions of the collections, use MOLE (Manuscripts On-Line Guide).
Echo Science and Technology Virtual Center (George Mason University, Virginia) -- This is a meta-site with links to hundreds of sites in all areas of science/tech/med history. The site is searchable by keyword.
Gottinger Digitalisierungs-Zentrum -- The Center for Retrospective Digitization was established to do retrospective digitization of library materials as part of an initiative to build a German digital research library. Here is their list of projects.
Harvard University Library, Open Collections Program -- Digital collections of primary sources on historically important topics, including thousands of searchable, rare, unique materials.
History of Science and Medicine Web Sites -- site maintained by Professor Barker for his History of Science classes at Oklahoma University.
History of Science Resources (University of Delaware) -- list of recommended web sites by subject, museums, and much more
History of Science, and History of Social Studies of Science -- site maintained by the Konrad Lorenz Institute for Evolution and Cognition Research (Altenberg, Austria). Annotated list of books, periodicals, societies, institutes and libraries, departments and programs, and other resources in the field.
Internet History of Science Sourcebook -- These "sourcebooks" are collections of public domain and copy-permitted historical texts for educational use, maintained by Professor Halsall of Fordham and University of North Florida.
Jordanus: an International Catalogue of Mediaeval Scientific Manuscripts -- This catalogue provides information about mediaeval manuscripts written in Western Europe between 500 and 1500 A.D.
Museum of the History of Science (University of Oxford) -- Available resources include online exhibits, an image library, and museum newsletters.
National Academies Press -- Electronic books that you can read online for free, from the National Academy of Science, National Academy of Engineering, National Research Council, and Institute of Medicine. Here are tips for searching.
The Nobel Foundation -- Contains a searchable database of all Nobel laureates.
Profiles in Science -- From the National Library of Medicine, this site contains the archival collections of prominent twentieth century biomedical scientists and contains published and unpublished materials, including books, journal volumes, pamphlets, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, audio tapes, and other audiovisual materials.
Librarian |
Sue VazakasC Level
phone: 410-516-4153
Send Email
Subjects:
Applied Math + Stats, BME, Computer Science/JHUISI, ECE, History of Sci/Tech, Mathematics, Physics/Astronomy, Public Health
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait