Before 1700
Early English Books Online (EEBO)
- Page images of virtually every work printed in England, Ireland, Scotland, Wales, and British North America, and
- Works in English printed elsewhere from 1473-1700.
- How to download
Through the 16th Century
ISIS is the main source for historical information about science, technology, and medicine. The print volumes are in Science Reference right next to each other, at Q2.
ISIS Cumulative Bibliography, 1913-1965 (that is, published during those years)
- The six volumes are divided as personalities, institutions, subjects, pre-history, the Middle Ages, 15th-16th centuries, and author index. Q2 .I81 1971
ISIS Cumulative Bibliography, 1966-1975
ISIS Cumulative Bibliography, 1976-1985
- Two volumes each, divided as personalities, institutions, subjects, periods, and
civilations.
Q2 .I82 1980 and Q2 .I83 1989
History of Science, Technology, and Medicine (1975+) -- Covers literature about this subject published from 1975+.
Pre-1857 - 1962
Biographisch-Literarisches Handwortenbuch ... ("Poggendorff")
With volume 7, the series is subdivided into two parts:
- v. 7a for scientists from Germany, Austria, and Switzerland, 1932-53
- v. 7b for scientists from other countries, 1932-62.
Nicknamed for Johann Christian Poggendorff (1796 - 1877), this set of bibliographies and "remains the standard...work for information about the life and works of mathematicians, astronomers, physicists, chemists, mineralogists, geologists and other scientists of all nations." [Oak Knoll Press web site].
Dates of Coverage: ALL
These catalogs and resources cover ALL time periods.
(Some have print versions that cover specific years, which are noted.)
Academie Nationale de Medecine [English version]
- It currently holds 400 000 volumes, with 800 manuscripts et 113 incunabula, as well as extensive collections of archives and manuscripts.
Bibliothèque Nationale de France [in French only]
- The entire catalogue of France's National Library is now online. [click the "reconnect" button]
IN PRINT:
Catalogue général des livres imprimés de la Bibliothèque Nationale
Z 927 .P2 (D Level) [covers dates before 1959]
- The British Library receives a copy of every publication produced in the UK and Ireland. The collection includes 150 million items, in most known languages. There are manuscripts, maps, newspapers, magazines, prints and drawings, stamps and related items, music scores, and patents. The Sound Archive keeps sound recordings from 19th-century cylinders to the latest CD, DVD and minidisc recordings.
- The Museum holds 350,000 books, offprints, pamphlets, and many periodical publications. The link will take you to the information page for the Paul Hamlyn Library (puboic), the Museum's Central Library, and the Museum Archives, which document the history of the Museum. The British Museum no longer holds the national collections of printed books, manuscripts, and journals. For those, contact the British Library.
IN PRINT:
General Catalogue of Printed
Books of the British
Museum
Z921.B86 1959 QUARTO [covers dates before 1955]
Gen Ref, M
Level
- This is a link to the digital resources of the National Libraries of Europe. It offers access to and free searching of the resources (books, music, journals, maps, and more, both digital and non-digital) of the 40+ national libraries of Europe. You can search by country, by subject, or by theme (e.g., portraits, children's literature, music collections).
Vatican Library (Biblioteca Apostoliana Vaticana) [English version]
- The Vatican Library has an online catalogue that can be searched, in English and Italian, and catalogs for various kinds of collections, such as manuscripts and coins.
- NOTE: The Vatican Library is currently closed for renovation.
- The catalog of the holdings of research libraries in North America and many overseas libraries. It includes materials as old as medieval manuscripts.
1876 - 1982
Pure and Applied Science Books (1876-1982)
Over 220,000 entries, covering all disciplines of science and
technology. Also contains at least 5,000 titles published before 1876.
Q220 .P89 Sci Ref
Librarian |
Sue VazakasC Level
phone: 410-516-4153
Send Email
Subjects:
Applied Math + Stats, BME, Computer Science/JHUISI, ECE, History of Sci/Tech, Mathematics, Physics/Astronomy, Public Health
Description
Loading content... please wait




Loading content... please wait