Finding Books of All AgesFluid Mechanics Classics
GeneralSpecific Topics
1. What Is a Primary Source?2. Primary Sources Online3. Historical Newspapers and Periodicals4. Archives across JHU
1. GeneralAstronomyChemistryEngineeringGeology; EnvironmentMathematicsMedicinePhysicsPsychology
How Do I Read / Scan / Copy It?Landmarks of ScienceMicroform Sets in Library Catalog
GeneralSpecific Topics
Domesticating Technology, 140.113Exploration and Science, 140.389The Scientific Revolution, 140.321
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

History of Science and Technology 

This guide will help with your research about historical aspects of science and technology, with some additional guidance about the history of medicine.
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/histsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Engineering             Print Page
  

Engineering

ARTICLES and More

  • Compendex (1884+)-- A huge interdisciplinary engineering database, with 9 million+ citations from 5,000 engineering journals
  • Inspec Archive [Science Abstracts] (1898-1969) -- This is the early part of the main database for citations to articles in physics, electrical engineering, electronics, and computing and control engineering


PATENTS

U.S. Patent and Trademark Office (1790+)
[For help with patents, go to Government Publications, Maps, and Law (GPML) Library on A-level]

  • A patent is granted to an inventor by the U.S. Government "to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention throughout the [U.S.] or importing the invention into [U.S.]" for a limited time in exchange for public disclosure of the invention when the patent is granted.

  • Information about all U.S. patents (including utility, design, reissue, plant patents and SIR documents)

  • From January 1976 to the present: Full searchable text, including inventor's name, the patent's title, and the assignee's name; the abstract; the full description of the invention; and the claims.

  • From 1790 to December 1975: Only the patent number and the current patent classification are in the text display and can be searched only by those fields. However, this also has a link to full-page images of each page of the patent
  • Not included: Information from Certificates of Correction and Reexaminations; but these can be found as pages attached to the full-page images of the original patent

 

SPECIAL COLLECTION

  • Atomic Energy Collection (Oregon State University) -- This collection contains more than 3,000 items on the development of nuclear technologies in the 20th century.

  • The collection includes the first published account of the discovery of radioactivity in 1896 by Nobel Prize-winning physicist Henri Becquerel; materials concerning the congressional hearings of J. Robert Oppenheimer; declassified government reports; and cultural aspects of the atomic age through fictional works, poetry, drama, and music.
      
     
     

    STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
    Sheridan Libraries
    3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
    (410)-516-8335
    Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

    Description

      Loading content... please wait