Finding Books of All AgesFluid Mechanics Classics
GeneralSpecific Topics
1. What Is a Primary Source?2. Primary Sources Online3. Historical Newspapers and Periodicals4. Archives across JHU
1. GeneralAstronomyChemistryEngineeringGeology; EnvironmentMathematicsMedicinePhysicsPsychology
How Do I Read / Scan / Copy It?Landmarks of ScienceMicroform Sets in Library Catalog
GeneralSpecific Topics
Domesticating Technology, 140.113Exploration and Science, 140.389The Scientific Revolution, 140.321
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

History of Science and Technology 

This guide will help with your research about historical aspects of science and technology, with some additional guidance about the history of medicine.
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/histsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

Microform Sets in Library Catalog             Print Page
  

Sets of Microforms That You Can Find in the Catalog

Many collections of material in microform contain tons of content; for example, one little box of microfiche can contain the text of thousands of complete books.

The good news is that many microform sets are cataloged, meaning that every one of the thousands of documents or books can be found individually in the library's catalog. So, for example, if you find a reference somewhere to an item that you want to read, you should look up the item's title in the catalog to see whether it's there.

As of 12/2008, here are the sets whose every individual title can be found in the catalog, and how many titles are in each set:

  • American Periodicals, 1741-1900 (1,710)
  • American Poetry I-III (7,508)
  • CIS Index to US Exec Branch documents (1789-1909) & (1910-1932)   (67,750)
  • CIS-Congressional Information Service Records (65,243)
  • Civil War Unit Histories (687)
  • Confederate Imprints (5,963)
  • Dime Novels (3,101)
  • Early American Imprint, First series [1639-1800 (Evans)]  (36,331)
  • Early American Imprints, Second series [1801-1819 (Shaw Shoemaker)]   (37,841)
  • Early English Books 1475-1640 (Pollard&Redgrave, Units 49-55)  (3,303)
  • Early English Books, 1641-1700 (Wing, ) Units 1-64 (41,762)
  • German Baroque Literature (Yale Collection) (2,384)
  • German Baroque Literature, Harold Jantz Collection (3,344)
  • Landmarks of Science I   (3,911)
  • Landmarks II, Segments 12-31  (1,290)
  • Landmarks II , Segments 32-46   (899)
  • Landmarks II , Segments 47-54  (393)
  • Literature of Theology and Church History of the United States and Canada (989)
  • Major Studies & Issue Briefs of the Congressional Research Service (2,899)
  • Papers of the NAACP (4,329)
  • Records of Ante-Bellum Southern Plantations, Series A-J (279)
  • Spanish Civil War Collection (2,225)
  • Spanish Drama of the Golden Age (410)
  • Women in America (from Sabin Americana Collection)  (50)
  • Wright American Fiction, 1774-1910 (v.1-3)   (10,688)
  • Wright American Fiction (v.4&5)   (4197)
  • Yoruba collection of William & Berta Bascom  (442)
      
     
     

    STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
    Sheridan Libraries
    3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
    (410)-516-8335
    Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

    Description

      Loading content... please wait