Finding Books of All AgesFluid Mechanics Classics
GeneralSpecific Topics
1. What Is a Primary Source?2. Primary Sources Online3. Historical Newspapers and Periodicals4. Archives across JHU
1. GeneralAstronomyChemistryEngineeringGeology; EnvironmentMathematicsMedicinePhysicsPsychology
How Do I Read / Scan / Copy It?Landmarks of ScienceMicroform Sets in Library Catalog
GeneralSpecific Topics
Domesticating Technology, 140.113Exploration and Science, 140.389The Scientific Revolution, 140.321
Printers / Mobile / Screenreaders
Johns Hopkins University The Sheridan Libraries

Admin Sign In 

History of Science and Technology 

This guide will help with your research about historical aspects of science and technology, with some additional guidance about the history of medicine.
Last update: Nov 09th, 2009 URL: http://guides.library.jhu.edu/histsci  Print Guide  RSS Updates

1. General             Print Page
  
 

Multidisciplinary Sources with Broad Subject Coverage

Here are sources that cover all topics, for particular time periods.

They are arranged by time period, beginning with the oldest start date.   

 

All Time Periods

History of Science, Technology, and Medicine

  • Lists journal articles, conference proceedings, books, book reviews, and dissertations in the history of science, technology, medicine, and allied historical fields.

1600's (17th Century)

JSTOR  (1600s - about 5 years ago)

  • This is a multidisciplinary collection of complete runs of scholarly journals, starting with the very first issues.

 

1700's (18th Century)

Eighteenth Century Collections Online

  • Search books, pamphlets, and essays published in the UK and elsewhere during the 1700's 
  • Check the box for "Medicine, Science and Technology"

Patents  (1790+)

  • Use the patent literature to trace the development of technology.
  • A patent is granted to an inventor by the U.S. Government "to exclude others from making, using, offering for sale, or selling the invention...for a limited time in exchange for public disclosure of the invention when the patent is granted."
  • Go to the Patents and Trademarks page to search for images, some full text, non-U.S. patents, and more.

 

1800's (19th Century)


Royal Society of London, Catalogue of Scientific Papers  (1800-1900)

  • Includes mechanics pure mathematics, physics, and other topics
  • Sci Ref Z7403 .R88

Science in the Nineteenth Century Periodical  (1800-1900)

  • Provides a synopsis of material relating to science, technology, and medicine that appeared in 16 general periodicals published in Britain between 1800 and 1900
  • Entries reference 5,500+ individuals, 2,000 publications, and 1,000 institutions

Poole's index to periodical literature  (1802-1906)

  • An index to articles in American and English periodicals of all subjects.

Dissertations and Theses  (1861+)

Internationale Bibliographie der Zeitschriftenliteratur (IBZ)  (1885 - 1993)

  • Indexes a large number of European periodicals and covers basic research from all fields, particularly humanities and social sciences.
  • Gen Ref AI 9 .B5

Reader's Guide Retrospective  (1890 - 1982)

  • Popular general-interest periodicals published in the U.S., reflecting the history of 20th century America
  • Also indexes many European periodicals and covers basic research from all fields

 

1900's (20th Century) and Beyond

Industrial Arts Index  (1913 - 1957)

  • This is the earlier part of Applied Science and Technology  (1993+)
  • Indexes articles, product evaluations, and book reviews in ~400 English-language periodicals published in the U.S. and elsewhere
  • Includes trade and industrial publications, professional journals, and specialized subject publications

British Technology Index  (1962 - 1980)

  • Covers engineering and chemical technology, and related manufacturing processes
  • The list of journals that are indexed is at the end of every volume (e.g., British Steelmaker, Brewing Trade Review, Farm Mechanization, Bus and Coach)


 

 

 

 

 

 

 
 

STAFF DIRECTORY | PERSONS WITH DISABILITIES | CONTACT US | SITE MAP | HOURS
Sheridan Libraries
3400 North Charles Street, Baltimore, MD 21218
(410)-516-8335
Copyright 2009 | Disclaimer | Privacy Policy

Description

  Loading content... please wait